An MSN-to-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) program lets a nurse who already holds a Master of Science in Nursing earn a Doctor of Nursing Practice. Some of these programs include full PMHNP specialty training, which suits nurse practitioners of another specialty and MSN nurses in education or leadership. Others are DNP completion tracks for nurses who are already certified PMHNPs.
We compared 44 MSN-to-DNP PMHNP programs across 24 states: 32 that include PMHNP training and 12 DNP completion tracks for certified PMHNPs. The table below lists estimated tuition, cost per credit, credits, clinical hours, length and delivery format for each, drawn from our individual school profiles. Completion tracks are marked so you can tell the two apart.
MSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs at a Glance
*Programs that include PMHNP training.
- Two program types: programs that include PMHNP training prepare you for PMHNP certification. DNP completion tracks add the doctorate for nurses who are already PMHNPs.
- Typical cost with PMHNP training: about $29,000 to $66,000 in estimated tuition, with a median near $47,000.
- Typical cost of a completion track: a median of about $24,000 for roughly 30 credits.
- Credits: commonly 36 to 70 for programs with PMHNP training, depending on how much of your MSN transfers.
- Clinical hours: the DNP requires at least 1,000 post-baccalaureate hours in total, and MSN hours usually count toward it.
- Format: about three-quarters of programs with PMHNP training are online or mostly online.
Compare MSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs
Filter by state or delivery format, and select a column heading to sort. Programs marked as DNP completion are for nurses who are already certified PMHNPs. Select a school name for its full profile, including admission requirements and course lists.
| School | State | Est. Tuition | Per Credit | Credits | Clinical Hours | Length | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samford University | AL | $47,000 | $1,000 | 47 | 750 | 2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| University of South Alabama⚠️ Cost shown is for certified PMHNPs; other MSN nurses take 60 to 69 credits | AL | $14,616–$42,021 | $609 | 24–69 | Not stated | 2–4 years | Online |
| Arizona State University | AZ | Not stated | $952 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Mostly Online |
| University of Arizona | AZ | Not stated | $1,058 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Mostly Online |
| University of San Francisco | CA | $117,720 | $1,635 | 72 | 1,000 | 3 years (full-time), 8 semesters | Hybrid |
| Western University | CA | $80,217 | $1,129 | 71 | 1,000 | 3 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Saint Joseph⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | CT | $19,998 | $1,111 | 18 | Not stated | ~1.5 years (3 semesters) | Not stated |
| Florida State University | FL | $23,546 | $444 | 53 | 840 | ~2.3 years (7 semesters, about 28 months) | Mostly Online |
| University of North Florida⚠️ Must live or intend to work in Florida | FL | $32,573 | $494 | 66 | 960 | Not stated | Online |
| Mercer University | GA | $74,559 | $1,286 | 58 | 960 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Hybrid |
| University of Iowa | IA | $51,748 | $1,191 | 72 | 1,000 | 2–3 years | Hybrid |
| Idaho State University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | ID | $25,846 | $613 | 22 | Not stated | 1.3 yrs (4 semesters) | Not stated |
| DePaul University | IL | $57,936 | $852 | 68 | Not stated | Not stated | Online |
| Rosalind Franklin University | IL | $121,600–$122,700 | $861 | 137 | 1,120 | 3–4 years (36-month FT or 48-month PT) | Mostly Online |
| Rush University⚠️ Online option not available to LA, TN or CA residents | IL | $61,213–$83,608 | $1,493 | 41–56 | 1,008 | ~3 years (PT) | Online |
| Washburn University | KS | $51,617 | $727 | 71 | 1,020 | ~4 years (8 semesters) | Online |
| University of Massachusetts Dartmouth⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | MA | $21,047 | $617 | 28 | 504 | <2 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Wayne State | MI | Not stated | $564 | Not stated | 820 | Not stated | Not stated |
| University of Minnesota. | MN | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Mostly Online |
| Winona State University | MN | $50,555 | $1,176 | 43 | 600 | 2–3 yrs | Hybrid |
| UMKC | MO | $45,215 | $923 | 31 | Not stated | ~2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Missouri⚠️ Requires APRN certification; confirm PMHNP courses are included | MO | Not stated | $662 | Not stated | Not stated | about 3 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| Adelphi University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | NY | Not stated | $1,810 | Not stated | 500 | Not stated | Hybrid |
| Binghamton University | NY | $62,820 | $1,047 | 60 | 1,140 | ~3 years (full-time) | Hybrid |
| D'Youville University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | NY | $32,250 | $1,075 | 30 | 1,000 | 2 years | Online |
| Hunter College⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | NY | $26,040 | $620 | 42 | 500 | ~2–3 years | Not stated |
| NYU⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | NY | $89,856 | $2,496 | 36 | 400 | Not stated | Hybrid |
| Russell Sage College⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | NY | $23,280 | $970 | 24 | 500 | ~2 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | NY | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Varies | Hybrid |
| Stony Brook University⚠️ For certified NPs and CNMs; confirm PMHNP courses are included | NY | $40,953–$50,418 | Not stated | 42 | 500 | ~3 yrs | Online |
| Walden University | National | $69,225 | Not stated | 85 | 1,000 | 3 years full-time | Online |
| Ohio University⚠️ May be DNP completion only; confirm PMHNP courses are included | OH | $23,688 | $658 | 36 | Not stated | ~2–3 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Pennsylvania State University | PA | $31,110 | $1,037 | 30 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh | $46,080 | Not stated | 36–45 | Not stated | 24 months | Not stated |
| Francis Marion University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | SC | $24,700 | Not stated | 30 | 360 | one year full-time | Online |
| South Dakota State University | SD | $25,746–$33,102 | $613 | 42–54 | 1,000 | 2–3 yrs | Mostly Online |
| East Tennessee State University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | TN | $21,504 | $672 | 32 | 500 | 1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| Tennessee Tech University⚠️ Cost shown is for nurses already certified in the specialty | TN | $22,368 | $699 | 32 | Not stated | Varies | Online |
| Baylor University⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | TX | $46,250 | $1,250 | 37 | Not stated | 1.5–2 years | Not stated |
| Texas Tech University | TX | Not stated | $486 | 28 | Not stated | ~3–4 years (dual enrollment) | Mostly Online |
| Old Dominion University | VA | $26,730 | $486 | 55 | Not stated | ~7 semesters (~28 months) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Pacific Lutheran University | WA | Not stated | $1,242 | Not stated | Not stated | 2–3 yrs full-time or 4 yrs part-time | Hybrid |
| University of Washington | WA | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Washington State University | WA | $81,423–$91,204 | $1,180 | 69 | 660 | 3-4 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Wisconsin⚠️ For nurses already certified as PMHNPs (DNP completion) | WI | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | ~2 years | Hybrid |
Tuition estimates come from each school's published rates as summarized in our program profiles, using resident rates where they differ. Fees, books and travel are not included. ⚠️ marks programs with admission limits.
Lower-Cost MSN-to-DNP Programs With PMHNP Training
These programs include PMHNP specialty training and list some of the lowest estimated tuition in this group. Resident rates are shown where in-state and out-of-state tuition differ. Several require existing nurse practitioner certification in another specialty.
- Florida State University (FL): $23,546 estimated tuition, 53 credits, Mostly Online
- South Dakota State University (SD): $25,746–$33,102 estimated tuition, 42–54 credits, Mostly Online
- Old Dominion University (VA): $26,730 estimated tuition, 55 credits, Mostly Online
- University of North Florida (FL): $32,573 estimated tuition, 66 credits, Online
- Samford University (AL): $47,000 estimated tuition, 47 credits, Mostly Online
- Winona State University (MN): $50,555 estimated tuition, 43 credits, Hybrid
DNP Completion Programs for Certified PMHNPs
These tracks are for nurses who already hold PMHNP certification and want the doctorate. They do not include PMHNP specialty courses.
- University of Saint Joseph (CT): $19,998 estimated tuition, 18 credits, format not stated
- University of Massachusetts Dartmouth (MA): $21,047 estimated tuition, 28 credits, Mostly Online
- East Tennessee State University (TN): $21,504 estimated tuition, 32 credits, Mostly Online
- Russell Sage College (NY): $23,280 estimated tuition, 24 credits, Mostly Online
- Francis Marion University (SC): $24,700 estimated tuition, 30 credits, Online
- Idaho State University (ID): $25,846 estimated tuition, 22 credits, Mostly Online
- Hunter College (NY): $26,040 estimated tuition, 42 credits, format not stated
- D’Youville University (NY): $32,250 estimated tuition, 30 credits, Online
- Baylor University (TX): $46,250 estimated tuition, 37 credits, format not stated
- NYU (NY): $89,856 estimated tuition, 36 credits, Hybrid
- Adelphi University (NY): cost not stated, Hybrid
- University of Wisconsin (WI): cost not stated, Hybrid
MSN-to-DNP or Post-Master’s Certificate?
If you hold an MSN and your goal is to practice as a PMHNP, compare this page with our post-master’s PMHNP certificate programs. A certificate prepares you for the same PMHNP board certification with a median of about 26 credits and $21,500 in tuition. An MSN-to-DNP with PMHNP training usually takes about twice the credits and cost, and adds the doctorate.
- Choose a certificate if you want to start practicing as a PMHNP as soon as possible, or if the doctorate is not important for your career plans.
- Choose an MSN-to-DNP with PMHNP training if you want the doctorate for leadership, teaching or health-system roles and prefer to earn it alongside your PMHNP preparation.
- Choose a DNP completion track if you are already a certified PMHNP and want to add the doctorate.
What to Check Before You Apply
- Whether PMHNP courses are included: some post-master’s DNPs contain only doctoral coursework. If you are not yet a PMHNP, confirm the program lists psychiatric specialty courses and clinical rotations.
- Certification requirements for admission: many programs with PMHNP training admit only nurses who already hold NP, CNS, CNM or CRNA certification.
- How many prior hours transfer: your MSN clinical hours usually count toward the 1,000-hour DNP total, which changes how many new hours you need.
- Campus visits and state limits: count required campus intensives, and check that the program enrolls students in your state.
Certification After Graduation
Graduates of MSN-to-DNP programs that include PMHNP training are eligible to sit for the ANCC PMHNP-BC board certification exam, then apply to their state board of nursing for authority to practice as a PMHNP. For the full path from RN to PMHNP, see How to Become a PMHNP.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is an MSN-to-DNP PMHNP program?
It is a Doctor of Nursing Practice for nurses who already hold a Master of Science in Nursing. Some programs include full PMHNP specialty training for nurses who are not yet psychiatric nurse practitioners. Others are DNP completion tracks for nurses who are already certified PMHNPs and only need the doctoral coursework.
How long does an MSN-to-DNP PMHNP program take?
Programs that include PMHNP training usually take 2 to 3 years. DNP completion tracks for nurses who are already PMHNPs usually take 1 to 2 years.
How much does an MSN-to-DNP PMHNP program cost?
Among programs that include PMHNP training, the median estimated tuition is about $47,000, and the middle half of programs falls between about $29,000 and $66,000. DNP completion tracks for certified PMHNPs have a median of about $24,000.
Should I choose an MSN-to-DNP or a post-master’s certificate?
If your goal is to become a PMHNP, a post-master’s certificate is usually the shorter and less expensive route, with a median of about 26 credits and $21,500 in tuition. Choose an MSN-to-DNP if you also want the doctorate and are ready for roughly twice the credits and cost.
I am already a certified PMHNP. Can I earn a DNP?
Yes. DNP completion tracks are built for you. They usually require about 30 credits and focus on quality improvement, leadership, evidence-based practice and a DNP project, with no additional PMHNP specialty courses.
How many clinical hours does an MSN-to-DNP require?
DNP graduates need at least 1,000 post-baccalaureate clinical and practice hours. Hours from your MSN usually count toward that total, so the additional hours you complete depend on your background. Completion tracks commonly add about 500 hours, while programs that include PMHNP training add more.
Can I complete an MSN-to-DNP PMHNP online?
Mostly. About three-quarters of the programs that include PMHNP training are online or mostly online, meaning online classes plus a few required campus visits. Clinical hours and the DNP project are completed in person.
What certification exam do graduates take?
Graduates of programs that include PMHNP training are eligible for the ANCC PMHNP-BC board certification exam. DNP completion tracks do not lead to a new certification, because students are already certified.