9 Schools • 4 Online • 3 Mostly Online • 2 Hybrid
Nine Illinois schools offer seventeen PMHNP tracks: six DNPs, four MSNs, six post-graduate certificates, and one dual FNP/PMHNP track. Four schools are online, three mostly online, and two hybrid. Resident tuition runs from about $14K for a certificate to $118K for a doctorate. Degree programs take 2 to 5 years, and every school holds CCNE accreditation.
Highlights include:
- DePaul University offers the PMHNP as an MSN, a DNP, and a certificate, plus a dual FNP/PMHNP track, all online
- Illinois State University admits only certified FNPs and finishes in one year
- Loyola University offers the nation’s first Substance Use and Addictions specialty within a PMHNP DNP
- Rosalind Franklin University arranges every placement across 1,120 clinical hours, the most in Illinois
Compare Illinois PMHNP Programs
| School | Online Format | Campus Commitment | Cost Per Credit | Degrees | Best For |
| Bradley University | Online | None | $1,158 CPC | RN-MSN, MSN, BSN-DNP, post-master’s certificate | Nurses entering from an ADN or diploma who want no campus travel |
| DePaul University | Online | None named | $852 per quarter hour | MSN, BSN-DNP, certificate, dual FNP/PMHNP | Nurses wanting dual FNP/PMHNP certification or quarterly starts |
| Illinois State University | Online | None; orientation is online | $562.91 CPC | Post-master’s certificate | Certified FNPs adding a psychiatric specialty |
| Loyola University | Mostly Online | Immersion weekends in Maywood; number not stated | $1,295 CPC | BSN-DNP | Experienced psychiatric RNs focused on addictions care |
| North Central College | Mostly Online | 2–3 immersions in Naperville | $861 CPC | MSN, post-graduate certificate | Working RNs wanting a master’s at a fixed pace |
| Rosalind Franklin University | Hybrid | Four 2–4 day immersions over the program | $861 per quarter hour | DNP (BSN or MSN entry) | Nurses wanting maximum clinical hours with arranged placements |
| Rush University | Mostly Online | No required visits; synchronous classes | $1,493 CPC | BSN-DNP, MSN-DNP | MSN-prepared APRNs seeking a top-ranked doctorate |
| University of Illinois Chicago | Hybrid | On-site and blended courses; frequency not stated | $1,129 CPC | BSN-DNP, post-DNP certificate | DNP-bound nurses near one of five UIC campuses |
| University of St. Francis | Online | None | $830 CPC; $810 certificate | MSN, post-master’s certificate | Cost-focused RNs wanting frequent start dates |
CPC shows the resident rate. Illinois State’s $562.91 includes a $119.21 per-credit fee, and non-residents pay $1,040.82. The seven private schools publish one rate, North Central’s locked to each entry cohort ($861 for 2026 starts). DePaul and Rosalind Franklin bill by the quarter hour, Rush adds a $429 administrative fee each semester, and the rest bill fees per term or year.
What’s the Best PMHNP Program for You?
Most Accessible Admissions
University of St. Francis publishes no GPA minimum or psychiatric experience requirement, starts cohorts every semester, and offers an RN-to-MSN entry for nurses without a BSN.
Dual FNP and PMHNP Certification
DePaul University is the only Illinois school with a dual FNP/PMHNP track, offered as a DNP, an MSN, and a certificate, with four start terms a year and no campus visits named.
Highest-Ranked Program
Rush University has ranked among the top three PMHNP DNP programs nationally in U.S. News & World Report for several consecutive years, the only national specialty ranking cited among Illinois programs.
Best for Nurses Outside Chicago
University of Illinois Chicago offers its DNP at five campuses (Chicago, Peoria, Rockford, Springfield, and Urbana), with faculty-arranged clinical sites.
Most Predictable Master’s Cost
North Central College locks tuition at the entry-year rate for the full program, and scholarships can cut it by up to 25%.
Illinois DNP PMHNP Programs
Six schools offer the PMHNP as a doctorate, and all six accept BSN-prepared nurses. Programs run 68 to 82 semester credits, or 80 quarter hours at DePaul and 137 at Rosalind Franklin. Rush is the only school with separate reduced-credit MSN-entry pathways. DePaul, Loyola, and UIC do not publish total clinical hours.
| School | Estimated Tuition (resident) | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Bradley University | $83K | 3.7 years | 1,000 hrs |
| DePaul University | $68K | Not clearly stated | Not clearly stated |
| Loyola University | $93K–$96K | 4–5 years | Not clearly stated |
| Rosalind Franklin University | $118K | 3–4 years | 1,120 hrs |
| Rush University (BSN entry) | $102K | 4 years, part-time | 1,008 hrs |
| Rush University (MSN entry) | $61K–$84K | 3 years, part-time | 1,008 hrs |
| University of Illinois Chicago | $93K | 3–5 years | Not clearly stated |
- Lowest BSN-entry cost: DePaul University — $68K derived, though its PMHNP course list omits the advanced practice sciences, so the true total may be higher.
- Highest experience bar: Loyola University — 2,000 hours of recent psychiatric nursing before the first practicum.
- Shortest post-master’s route: Rush University — 41 credits in about 3 years for certified APRNs, at $61K.
- Highest doctoral cost: Rosalind Franklin University — $118K, plus about $1,225 in fixed annual fees.
Illinois MSN PMHNP Programs
Four Illinois schools offer a standalone master’s. North Central and St. Francis both run 47 credits under $41K, Bradley runs 51 credits at about $59K with an RN-to-MSN bridge, and DePaul publishes no MSN credit total. The first two split on pace and structure. North Central runs a fixed 9-semester cohort with a single fall start, while St. Francis runs 16-week terms with new cohorts each semester.
| School | Estimated Tuition (resident) | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Bradley University | $59K | 2.7 years, 8 semesters | 750 hrs |
| DePaul University | Not clearly stated | Not clearly stated | Not clearly stated |
| North Central College | $40K | 3.5 years, 9 semesters | 525 hrs |
| University of St. Francis | $39K | 2–4 years | Not clearly stated |
- Lowest master’s cost: University of St. Francis — $39K, with a 20% discount for USF alumni.
- Single annual start: North Central College — fall only, with an interview required of every applicant.
- Four starts a year: DePaul University — fully online with quarterly starts, but no published credit total or clinical hours.
Illinois Post-Graduate Certificate PMHNP Programs
Six schools offer a certificate, and eligibility separates them more than price. Illinois State admits only certified FNPs, and UIC requires a DNP. North Central and St. Francis accept master’s-prepared nurses and set credits through gap analysis, Bradley accepts any accredited MSN at 27 to 36 credits, and DePaul asks only for a graduate degree and an RN license.
| School | Estimated Tuition (resident) | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Bradley University | $31K–$42K | 2 years, 6 semesters | 750 hrs |
| DePaul University | $34K | About 60 weeks | Not clearly stated |
| Illinois State University | $14K | 1 year, 4 semesters | 540 hrs |
| North Central College | $20K–$30K | 1–2 years | Not clearly stated |
| University of Illinois Chicago | $35K–$50K | 1.5–2 years | 675 hrs |
| University of St. Francis | $25K–$35K | 1 year | Not clearly stated |
- Lowest certificate cost: Illinois State University — $14K resident, with one May start each year.
- Only post-DNP option: University of Illinois Chicago — 31 credits for certified APRNs, and certificate students can’t use federal financial aid.
- Dual board eligibility: North Central College — graduates can sit for either the ANCC or AANP PMHNP exam.
National Online PMHNP Options
Illinois’s gaps are placement and eligibility. Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, and UIC arrange clinical sites, but training centers on the Chicago area and all three require campus time. Among the no-visit programs, Illinois State accepts only certified FNPs, and DePaul closes practicums in nine states; both leave the preceptor search to students. North Central is authorized in only about 20 states, and Rush’s online enrollment excludes California, Louisiana, and Tennessee. Nurses facing those limits often compare national online programs such as Walden University and Purdue Global. Confirm each school’s authorization for Illinois residents and its placement policy before applying.
| School | Cost Per Credit | Degrees | Online Format | Key Feature |
| Walden University | $775 | Certificate, BSN-MSN, BSN-DNP, MSN-DNP | Online | Placement support |
| Purdue Global | $400–$720 | Certificate, BSN-MSN, MSN, BSN-DNP | Online | VR clinical training |
| Nightingale College | $550 | BSN-MSN | Mostly Online | 810 clinical hours |
| Post University | $588–$603.75 | BSN-MSN | Online | Monthly starts |
| South College | $310 | Certificate, BSN-MSN, MSN | Online | 21-month MSN |
| WGU | Flat rate | Certificate, BSN-MSN | Online | Flat-rate terms |
FAQ
How many PMHNP programs are there in Illinois?
Nine schools offer seventeen PMHNP tracks: Bradley University, DePaul University, Illinois State University, Loyola University, North Central College, Rosalind Franklin University, Rush University, the University of Illinois Chicago, and the University of St. Francis. All hold CCNE accreditation.
Are any Illinois PMHNP programs fully online?
Bradley, DePaul, Illinois State, and St. Francis require no campus visits. Rush requires none either but expects synchronous class attendance and recommends a one-day orientation. Loyola and North Central are mostly online, and Rosalind Franklin and UIC are hybrid.
Which Illinois PMHNP program has the lowest tuition?
Illinois State’s $14K certificate is the lowest, but it admits only certified FNPs. For other master’s-prepared nurses, North Central’s certificate starts near $20K. St. Francis has the lowest MSN at $39K. DePaul’s derived $68K BSN-entry DNP and Rush’s $61K APRN pathway are the lowest doctorates.
Which Illinois schools offer a DNP with a PMHNP focus?
Bradley, DePaul, Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, Rush, and UIC. All six accept BSN-prepared nurses, and DePaul also offers a dual FNP/PMHNP DNP. Rush alone offers shorter pathways for MSN holders, at 41 credits for certified APRNs.
How often will I need to visit campus?
North Central requires 2–3 immersions in Naperville, and Rosalind Franklin holds four 2–4 day immersions over the program. Loyola requires immersion weekends in Maywood but doesn’t publish how many. UIC mixes on-site and blended courses without stating frequency. Bradley, DePaul, Illinois State, Rush, and St. Francis require no visits.
Can I complete clinical hours near home?
It depends on the school. Loyola, Rosalind Franklin, and UIC arrange placements, with Rosalind Franklin’s sites concentrated in Lake County. Bradley, DePaul, Illinois State, and North Central students secure their own preceptors in their home state. Rush and St. Francis don’t publish a placement policy.
Can nurses outside Illinois enroll?
Yes, with limits. North Central excludes California, and Rush excludes California, Louisiana, and Tennessee while restricting New York residents. Illinois State’s certificate costs non-residents about $25K and accepts preceptors licensed in the student’s state. Loyola requires a U.S. RN license eligible for Illinois endorsement, and DePaul closes practicums in nine states, including California and New York.