Program Tracks Overview
| Program | Est. Tuition | Est. Duration | Credit Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSN | $40.3K | ~3–3.5 yrs | 53 |
| Post-MSN Certificate | $28.1K | ~2–2.5 yrs | 37 |
Grand Canyon’s defining advantage is clinical volume that holds at both entry points: 750 supervised hours in the MSN and the certificate alike, 50% above the 500-hour national minimum.
Quick Facts
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Program Types | MSN with PMHNP emphasis; post-master’s PMHNP certificate |
| Format | Mostly Online — 4 required campus days across two Phoenix immersions, plus 1 virtual day |
| Clinical Hours | 750 for both tracks, itemized as 250 hours in each of three specialty courses |
| Clinical Placement | Student-sourced — GCU’s Office of Field Experience approves your selected site, not finds it |
| Population | Across the lifespan |
| Distinctive Coursework | Three 7-credit courses combining didactic content with 250 clinical hours each |
| Concentrations | None offered |
| RN License Requirements | Active U.S. registered nurse license |
| Enrollment Restriction | Open to residents of 15 states only |
| Course Length | 16 weeks per course; multiple start dates per year |
| Tuition | $760 per credit (online rate) |
| Accreditation | CCNE (nursing); Higher Learning Commission (institutional) |
MSN: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Emphasis
The estimated tuition for the MSN: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner at Grand Canyon University is approximately $40,280 (53 credits at $760/credit).
GCU does not publish a completion timeline for this program — courses run 16 weeks each, and the university directs prospective students to a counselor for a schedule estimate.
MSN Curriculum
At 53 credits, this is a large MSN. The national norm for a BSN-entry PMHNP master’s is roughly 45 to 50 credits, so GCU sits at the top of the range. The extra weight comes from a full four-course graduate core, including a capstone evidence-based practice project that many competing MSN programs compress into a single course.
Graduate Core (16 credits). Leadership, informatics, translational research, and a capstone EBP project. These run in a strict prerequisite chain — each course gates the next — so there is no reordering the sequence to fit your schedule.
The 3 Ps (12 credits). Physiology/pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment with a skills lab. At 4 credits each, these are weighted more heavily than the 3-credit versions common elsewhere.
PMHNP Specialty Sequence (25 credits). This is where GCU’s design differs most. Rather than separating didactic courses from standalone practicum courses, GCU builds three 7-credit courses that each carry 250 clinical hours alongside the content. You learn the diagnostic framework and apply it in the same term, and you cannot fall behind in clinicals without also falling behind academically.
- NUR-513A – Foundations of Advanced Nursing Practice (4)
- NUR-514A – Organizational Leadership and Informatics (4)
- NUR-550A – Translational Research and Population Health Management (4)
- NUR-590A – Evidence-Based Practice Project (4)
- NUR-631 – Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology (4)
- NUR-635 – Advanced Pharmacology (4)
- NUR-634 – Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning With Skills Lab (4)
- PMH-630 – Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health, with On-Campus Experience I (4)
- PMH-652 – Intro to Psychiatric Mental Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning (7)
- PMH-654 – Integrative Management: Psychiatric Assessment, Diagnosis and Treatment (7)
- PMH-656 – Advanced Management of Psychiatric Disorders, with On-Campus Experience II (7)
The two on-campus experience courses (PMH-630CE and PMH-656CE) carry 0 credits and are co-requisites attached to PMH-630 and PMH-656.
Credit conflict. GCU’s Summer 2026 academic catalog assigns 4 credits to each PMH specialty course and to both on-campus experience courses, which sums to 52 against a stated total of 53. The program page’s breakdown (7 credits per specialty course, 0 for the on-campus co-requisites) sums correctly to 53. The program page appears to be right; confirm with an enrollment counselor before assuming a credit count for transfer planning.
More curriculum details are available here.
MSN Clinical Requirements
- 750 total directly supervised clinical hours with qualified preceptors
- Distributed as 250 hours each in PMH-652, PMH-654, and PMH-656 — the itemized hours match the stated total
- Clinical, practicum, and immersion hours are completed locally
- Two required on-campus experiences at the Phoenix campus, totaling 4 campus days
- NOTE: Immersion I is described inconsistently: PMH-630 calls it a required 3-day on-campus immersion, while the PMH-630CE course description specifies 2 days on campus plus a 1-day live virtual webinar. Budget for 2 travel days and confirm before booking flights
- Immersion II (PMH-656CE) is 2 days on campus
- Immersions cover simulation, clinical interviewing, psychopharmacology, and diagnostic reasoning
- Students identify and secure their own clinical sites and preceptors
- GCU’s Office of Field Experience assigns each student a field experience specialist who approves the selected site, confirms health and safety requirements, and handles the practicum application
- Site and preceptor submitted via GCU’s Field Experience Site Information Form for approval before the practicum course begins
- Preceptors must meet GCU’s approval standards; an unapproved preceptor restarts the search
750 hours is a genuine advantage. The national accreditation floor for APRN programs is 500 hours, and most online MSN PMHNP programs land between 500 and 600. GCU requires 50% more than the minimum, which matters for two practical reasons: several states now mandate more than 500 hours for licensure, and hiring managers increasingly ask about clinical volume when comparing new-graduate PMHNPs.
The catch is that you have to arrange all 750 hours yourself. GCU’s Office of Field Experience approves the site you find — it does not go find one for you. In psychiatric nursing this is the hardest part of the degree, because qualified PMHNP preceptors are scarce and are being courted by students from every online program at once. The higher your hour requirement, the more sites you may need to line up, so a 750-hour requirement paired with self-sourcing is more work than a 500-hour requirement paired with the same policy. Start contacting potential preceptors before your first specialty course, not when it appears on your schedule, and budget for the possibility of paying a third-party placement service if your local market is saturated.
MSN Admissions
GCU does not publish PMHNP-specific admission criteria. The figures below are the university-wide graduate standards, and the significant gate is your state of residence.
- Bachelor’s degree from an accredited, GCU-approved institution
- Minimum 2.8 GPA — this is GCU’s general graduate floor, not a PMHNP-specific threshold
- Alternative route if the GPA is not met: an earned graduate degree from an accredited institution plus a GMAT score of 500 or a GRE combined verbal/quantitative score of 300
- Active U.S. registered nurse license
- Open only to residents of Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Virginia
- Up to 12 credits or one-third of program requirements may transfer, whichever is less
- No application fee; no SAT, ACT, or standard GRE requirement
NOTE: Don’t treat 2.8 as the real bar. Both PMHNP pages carry only GCU’s boilerplate that some programs require a higher GPA or additional criteria, and neither states what the PMHNP program actually requires. GCU publishes specific, higher thresholds on the pages for several of its other nurse practitioner programs, including minimum RN work experience requirements. The absence of published PMHNP criteria is a disclosure gap, not evidence of an easier admit — ask a counselor for the program’s actual GPA and experience requirements in writing before you assume you qualify.
Post-Master’s PMHNP Certificate
The estimated tuition for the Post-Master’s PMHNP Certificate at Grand Canyon University is approximately $28,120 (37 credits at $760/credit). As with the MSN, GCU publishes no completion timeline and refers prospective students to a counselor.
Certificate Curriculum
The certificate is the MSN minus its four graduate core courses — 53 credits less 16 equals 37. Nothing else is trimmed. You take the same 3 Ps and the same full PMHNP specialty sequence as degree-seeking students, including both campus immersions.
At 37 credits this is an unusually heavy post-master’s certificate. Most run 20 to 30 credits because they treat the 3 Ps as admission prerequisites already satisfied by your MSN. GCU requires you to retake all three at the graduate level regardless of what your master’s covered. That is a real cost: roughly $9,120 and three additional courses compared to a program that waives them.
- NUR-631 – Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology (4)
- NUR-635 – Advanced Pharmacology (4)
- NUR-634 – Advanced Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning With Skills Lab (4)
- PMH-630 – Foundations of Psychiatric Mental Health, with On-Campus Experience I (4)
- PMH-652 – Intro to Psychiatric Mental Health Assessment and Diagnostic Reasoning (7)
- PMH-654 – Integrative Management: Psychiatric Assessment, Diagnosis and Treatment (7)
- PMH-656 – Advanced Management of Psychiatric Disorders, with On-Campus Experience II (7)
More curriculum details are available here.
Certificate Clinical Requirements
- 750 total directly supervised clinical hours, matching the MSN
- Itemized on the certificate’s own course descriptions as 250 hours each in PMH-652, PMH-654, and PMH-656
- Two required Phoenix immersions totaling 4 campus days, same structure as the MSN
- Clinical, practicum, and immersion hours are completed locally
- Placement follows the same model as the MSN — students find their own sites and preceptors, and GCU’s Office of Field Experience approves them
GCU does not state a headline clinical-hour total anywhere in the certificate’s overview copy, the way it does for the MSN. The 750 figure comes from adding the per-course hours listed in the certificate’s own catalog entries. The arithmetic is unambiguous, but since your state board will want an exact number at licensure, ask for it in writing.
Requiring the full 750 hours of a certificate student is the most notable thing about this track. Many schools shrink the clinical load for post-master’s students on the theory that an experienced MSN-prepared nurse needs less supervised time, and certificates in the 500-to-600-hour range are common. GCU makes no such reduction, which is an advantage if you want maximum preparation and a burden if you were expecting a shorter path. Combined with the 37-credit course load, this certificate asks nearly as much of you as the degree does.
Certificate Admissions
The certificate follows GCU’s graduate admission standards plus a master’s requirement. Notably, it does not require an existing APRN credential.
- Master of Science in Nursing from an accredited, GCU-approved institution
- Minimum 2.8 GPA (GCU’s general graduate floor), or a graduate degree plus GMAT 500 / GRE 300 combined
- Active U.S. registered nurse license
- Open only to residents of the same 15 states listed for the MSN
- Up to 12 credits or one-third of program requirements may transfer, whichever is less
- No existing nurse practitioner certification required
Tuition
Estimated tuition is $40,280 for the MSN and $28,120 for the certificate. Both derive from GCU’s published online graduate nursing rate of $760 per credit: 53 credits × $760 for the MSN, 37 credits × $760 for the certificate. GCU charges online tuition by the credit rather than by a flat full-time term rate, so the arithmetic holds regardless of how many courses you take per term.
- Technology fee: approximately $96 per academic year for advanced practice nursing students
- Books, course materials, and supplies: estimated at approximately $1,112 per academic year
- Program premium: $0 — GCU applies no additional program surcharge to online advanced practice nursing
- Licensing and license prep fees: approximately $415 in the final academic year, if applicable
- Travel: airfare, lodging, and time off for 4 campus days in Phoenix are not included in tuition
- Rate changes: GCU’s per-credit rates are subject to annual revision and are not locked at matriculation
The all-in figure matters more than the headline. Add roughly $2,400 in fees and materials across a two-year MSN plus immersion travel, and a $40,280 program realistically lands near $44,000 before living costs. The absence of a program premium is a genuine positive — several competing online NP programs add four-figure APRN surcharges that are easy to miss.
See GCU’s cost of attendance page for the current fee schedule.
Why Choose This PMHNP Program?
Best suited for nurses who want more supervised clinical time than the minimum, live in one of GCU’s 15 approved states, and prefer a structured, faith-integrated program over the cheapest available option.
The clinical advantage is real and measurable. At 750 hours, GCU requires 50% more supervised practice than the 500-hour accreditation floor, and it is the only Arizona MSN that publishes a clinical total at all — Northern Arizona and the University of Phoenix both leave the number unstated. That transparency matters when you are comparing programs on the variable that most affects your readiness to practice, and it matters again at licensure, since a growing number of states now require more than 500 hours. The delivery design reinforces it: rather than bolting practicum courses onto the end, GCU embeds 250 clinical hours inside each of three specialty courses, so you apply the diagnostic framework in the same term you learn it.
Low campus burden for the clinical depth you get. The entire program requires 4 days on campus — two immersions of two days each, plus one virtual day. Compare that to Arizona State, which brings students to Downtown Phoenix two to three times every semester and is realistically only workable if you already live in the metro area. GCU’s model travels well: if you live in Boise, Detroit, or Pittsburgh, four days of travel across three years is a manageable commitment.
A certificate that doesn’t cut corners. GCU requires only an MSN, not an existing NP credential, making it one of just two Arizona certificate routes open to master’s-prepared nurses who are not already advanced practice nurses. Arizona State requires board certification in another APRN specialty, and the University of Arizona requires an APRN master’s or doctorate. The certificate also carries the same full 750 clinical hours as the degree, where many schools trim post-master’s students to 500 or 600.
Two ways to cut the cost and the calendar. GCU accepts up to 12 transfer credits, or one-third of program requirements, whichever is less. Applied fully, that removes about $9,120 from either track and drops three courses from the sequence — which, in a lockstep program, also shortens your timeline by roughly a year. For certificate applicants this is especially worth pursuing, since 12 credits is nearly a third of the 37-credit load and your existing MSN may cover some of the 3 Ps. Run the free Lopes Evaluation before you assume the sticker price applies to you. GCU also charges no program premium on online advanced practice nursing, which is unusual — several competing online NP programs add four-figure APRN surcharges on top of the per-credit rate.
Where another program may fit you better. This is the most expensive MSN pathway in Arizona at $760 per credit, and the lockstep prerequisite chain puts completion around 3 to 3.5 years, longer than in-state alternatives. GCU also approves your clinical site rather than finding it, so the full 750 hours depend on your own preceptor network. If you are highly cost-sensitive, need to finish in two years, or are coming from med-surg in a saturated metro with no psychiatric contacts, Northern Arizona delivers a CCNE-accredited MSN for less than half the price. If you already work in behavioral health, have preceptor relationships, and want the deepest clinical preparation available at the master’s level in Arizona, GCU is the stronger choice.
Weigh that honestly against your local market. If you already work in behavioral health and have preceptor relationships, self-sourcing is a manageable inconvenience and GCU’s clinical depth is a real asset. If you are coming from med-surg in a saturated metro with no psychiatric contacts, the hour requirement that makes this program strong is also what will make it hard to finish on schedule. And if you live outside the 15 approved states, the comparison is moot regardless.
Accreditation
Grand Canyon University has been institutionally accredited by the Higher Learning Commission since 1968. On its own program pages, GCU states that its baccalaureate degree programs in nursing, master’s degree programs in nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice programs, and post-graduate APRN certificate programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. That scope covers both tracks on this page — the MSN emphasis and the post-master’s certificate. GCU identifies the American Nurses Credentialing Center as the certifying body for psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners; it does not state AANPCB eligibility for this specialty. Note that GCU’s MSN PMHNP page names only the Higher Learning Commission and omits CCNE, while the certificate page states the full CCNE scope — a gap in GCU’s own page copy rather than an accreditation problem.
Compare Additional Psych NP Programs in Arizona
- Arizona State University - Phoenix
- Northern Arizona University - Flagstaff
- University of Arizona - Tucson
- University of Phoenix - Phoenix
View our comprehensive comparison of all PMHNP programs in Arizona