A post-master’s Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) certificate lets a nurse who already holds an MSN or DNP qualify for PMHNP board certification without earning a second graduate degree. It is the standard route from MSN to PMHNP, and it is the most common way family and adult-gerontology nurse practitioners add psychiatric care to their practice.
We compared 195 post-master’s PMHNP certificate programs across 49 states. The table below lists estimated tuition, cost per credit, credits, clinical hours, length and delivery format for each program, drawn from our individual school profiles. Most programs are online or mostly online, and most finish in 12 to 24 months.
PMHNP Certificate Programs at a Glance
- Typical cost: about $14,500 to $30,000 in estimated tuition, with a median near $21,500.
- Per-credit rates: most programs charge $585 to $995 per credit.
- Credits: usually 22 to 31, with a median of 26 before any gap-analysis credit.
- Clinical hours: 500 to 960 supervised hours, with a median of about 640.
- Length: 12 to 24 months for most programs; a few full-time options take 8 to 12 months.
- Format: about 4 in 10 programs are fully online and 8 in 10 are online or mostly online.
Compare Post-Master’s PMHNP Certificate Programs
Filter by state or delivery format, and select a column heading to sort. Select a school name for its full profile, including admission requirements and course lists.
| School | State | Est. Tuition | Per Credit | Credits | Clinical Hours | Length | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Alaska Anchorage | AK | $13,176 | $549 | 24 | 750 | 1–2 years | Mostly Online |
| Samford University | AL | $37,000 | $1,000 | 37 | 750 | 1.7 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Alabama | AL | $13,920 | $480 | 29 | 780 | 5 semesters | Mostly Online |
| University of Mobile | AL | $17,280 | $720 | 24 | 585 | 3 semesters (12–15 months) | Online |
| University of North Alabama | AL | $14,030–$19,520 | $610 | 23–32 | 500 | 8–18 months full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of South Alabama | AL | Not stated | $609 | Not stated | 600 | 1–2 years | Online |
| Arkansas State University | AR | $14,025 | $510 | 28–37 | 750 | 1.5 years (18 months) | Online |
| University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | AR | $13,720 | $525 | 24 | Not stated | 16 months (4 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Arizona State University | AZ | $15,000–$22,500 | $952 | 29 | 585 | 1–1.5 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Grand Canyon University | AZ | $28,120 | $760 | 37 | 750 | ~2–2.5 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Northern Arizona University | AZ | $24,700–$39,400 | $698 | 23–36 | Not stated | 1–1.5 yrs | Online |
| University of Arizona | AZ | $37,041 | $1,058 | 35 | 720 | 1 yr 4 mos | Mostly Online |
| Azusa Pacific University | CA | $38,485 | $895 | 43 | Not stated | ~1.5–2 years (part-time) | Not stated |
| CSU Fresno (Fresno State) | CA | $12,600 | $600 | 21 | 540 | 1 year (3 semesters from January to December) | Not stated |
| Charles R Drew | CA | $59,500 | Not stated | 47 | 630 | 16–20 months | Hybrid |
| National University | CA | $40,740 | $675 | 40 | 540 | 12 months | Mostly Online |
| Touro University | CA | $40,000–$41,000 | $1,090 | 37–38 | 750 | almost 2 years | Not stated |
| UC Davis | CA | $45,925 | Not stated | 48 | 500 | 1 year; 12-month, 4-quarter cohort | Mostly Online |
| UCLA | CA | $21,115–$36,297 | Not stated | 48 | 500 | 1 year; full-time only, 4 consecutive quarters | Online |
| University of California San Francisco | CA | $50,000–$60,000 | Not stated | 48 | Not stated | 12 months (four consecutive quarters including one summer) | Mostly Online |
| University of San Francisco⚠️ Doctorate required | CA | Not stated | $1,635 | Not stated | 1,000 | as little as 1 year | Hybrid |
| Vanguard University | CA | $49,560 | $1,770 | 28 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years | Not stated |
| Western University | CA | $31,801 | $1,129 | 25 | Not stated | 16 months (4 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| CSU Pueblo | CO | $10,014–$20,028 | $626 | 16–32 | 780 | Varies | Hybrid |
| Regis University | CO | $27,430–$37,980 | $1,055 | 26–36 | Not stated | Varies | Online |
| University of Colorado | CO | $23,780 | $820 | 29 | 630 | 1.5 years (4 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Quinnipiac University | CT | $33,830 | $995 | 34 | Not stated | 1.5–2 years | Mostly Online |
| Sacred Heart University | CT | $20,055 | $955 | 21 | 540 | 15 months | Mostly Online |
| University of Saint Joseph | CT | $13,332–$35,552 | $1,111 | 12–32 | 750 | ~1–2 years (psych CNS) to ~2.5–3 years (RNs with M.S.) | Hybrid |
| Western Connecticut State | CT | $15,000–$25,000 | Not stated | Not stated | 540 | 1–2 years (part-time) | Hybrid |
| Yale | CT | Not stated | $2,071 | Not stated | Not stated | Varies | Not stated |
| University of Delaware | DE | $21,912–$36,520 | $913 | 24–40 | 500 | 2-3 years (part-time) | Online |
| Wilmington University | DE | $18,604 | $564 | 31 | 750 | Not clearly stated | Online |
| Florida Atlantic University | FL | $9,295 | $372 | 28 | 780 | ~2 years (4 semesters) | Online |
| Florida National University | FL | $22,750 | $900 | 21 | 600 | Not clearly stated | Hybrid |
| Florida Southern College | FL | Not stated | $680 | Not stated | Not stated | Varies (individualized plan) | Hybrid |
| Florida State University | FL | $10,662 | $444 | 24 | 780 | Not stated | Online |
| Jacksonville University | FL | Not stated | $750 | Not stated | Not stated | 4-5 semesters | Hybrid |
| St Thomas University | FL | $15,730–$22,990 | $605 | 26–38 | 500 | ~1.2 years | Online |
| University of North Florida | FL | $14,806 | $494 | 30 | 800 | Not stated | Online |
| University of St Augustine | FL | $27,023–$35,151 | Not stated | 28–37 | 754 | ~1.7–2 years | Online |
| Augusta University | GA | $9,702 | $441 | 22 | 504 | ~1 year | Hybrid |
| Brenau University | GA | $23,296 | $896 | 26 | Not stated | 15 months (4 semesters, part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Emory University | GA | $54,340 | $2,090 | 26 | 720 | 1-1.5 years (three semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Georgia College & State University | GA | $4,323–$12,576 | $393 | 11–32 | 570 | 1-2 years | Mostly Online |
| Georgia Southern University | GA | $14,004 | Not stated | 19 | 630 | ~2 years (or 1 year) | Not stated |
| Georgia State University | GA | $14,044–$21,932 | $464 | 26–43 | 500 | ~12 mo (3 sem) | Mostly Online |
| Valdosta State University | GA | $8,964–$14,608 | $332 | 27–44 | 645 | 1–2 years | Hybrid |
| Hawai‘i Pacific University | HI | $30,159 | $1,117 | 27 | 630 | ~18–24 mos | Online |
| Allen College | IA | $26,572 | $962 | 26 | 525 | ~3 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| Briar Cliff University | IA | $35,483 | $585 | 55 | 750 | ~3 years (8 semesters incl. 2 summers, part-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Iowa | IA | $14,656 | Not stated | 22 | Not stated | 14 months (4 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Idaho State University⚠️ Certified FNPs only | ID | $18,699 | $613 | 23 | 528 | 1.5–2 yrs | Online |
| Bradley University | IL | $31,266–$41,688 | $1,158 | 27–36 | 750 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Online |
| DePaul University | IL | $34,080 | $852 | 40 | Not stated | 1.2 years (6 quarters) | Online |
| Illinois State University⚠️ Certified FNPs only | IL | $13,510 | $444 | 24 | 540 | 1 yr (4 sems) | Online |
| North Central College | IL | $20,800–$31,100 | $861 | 23–35 | Not stated | 1–2 yrs | Mostly Online |
| University of Illinois Chicago⚠️ Doctorate required | IL | $34,999–$49,676 | $1,129 | 31–44 | 675 | 1.5–2 years | Hybrid |
| University of St Francis | IL | $25,110–$34,830 | $810 | 31–43 | Not stated | ~12 mos | Online |
| Indiana State | IN | $12,474 | $462 | 27 | 750 | 1–2 years | Online |
| Indiana Wesleyan University | IN | $21,600 | $675 | 32 | Not stated | ~2 years | Mostly Online |
| Purdue University | IN | $5,913 | Not stated | 17 | 630 | ~8–12 months | Hybrid |
| University of Southern Indiana | IN | $15,314–$16,714 | $447 | 28 | Not stated | 1–2 years | Online |
| KU Medical Center | KS | $14,772 | $471 | 24 | Not stated | 1.5–2 years | Not stated |
| University of Saint Mary | KS | $20,925–$29,450 | $775 | 27–38 | 780 | ~1–2 years | Mostly Online |
| Washburn University | KS | $14,540–$27,626 | $727 | 20–38 | 525 | ~2 years (4 semesters on average) | Online |
| Bellarmine University | KY | $17,695 | $820 | 20 | Not stated | ~1–1.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Frontier Nursing University | KY | $26,425 | $755 | 35 | 750 | ~1.5–2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Northern Kentucky University | KY | $21,505 | $592 | 35 | 750 | ~18 months | Not stated |
| University of Louisville | KY | $25,500 | $850 | 30 | 756 | 1.5–2 years | Hybrid |
| Western Kentucky University | KY | $10,926 | $607 | 18 | 670 | ~1 year | Hybrid |
| Loyola University | LA | $32,745–$43,365 | $885 | 37–49 | 860 | ~1.5–2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Southeastern Louisiana University | LA | $9,500 | $475 | 18–20 | 510 | ~1.5 years (4 semesters) | Online |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | LA | $9,600 | $480 | 20 | 510 | 1–1.5 years (four semesters) | Online |
| Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences | MA | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northeastern University | MA | $46,704 | $1,946 | 24 | Not stated | 1–2 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Regis College | MA | $34,425 | $1,275 | 27 | 800 | 12–18 mos | Online |
| Simmons University | MA | $34,776 | $1,288 | 27 | 756 | 16–20 mos (4 terms FT, 5 terms PT) | Mostly Online |
| UMass Chan Medical School | MA | Not stated | Not stated | 22 | Not stated | 1 yr (3 semesters: fall, spring, summer) | Mostly Online |
| University of Massachusetts Amherst | MA | $23,100–$24,750 | $825 | 28–30 | 560 | five semesters (current NPs); ~3 yrs (non-NPs) | Online |
| University of Massachusetts Dartmouth⚠️ Pending accreditation; next cohort Spring 2028 | MA | $13,530 | $617 | 18 | 500 | ~2 yrs (four terms) | Online |
| Johns Hopkins University | MD | $33,915 | $1,995 | 17 | 500 | 1 year (3 semesters) full-time | Online |
| University of Maryland⚠️ Doctorate required | MD | $39,818 | $926 | 43 | 990 | ~2 years (full time) | Hybrid |
| Husson University | ME | $34,782 | $682 | 51 | 600 | 2-2.5 years | Online |
| University of Maine Fort Kent | ME | $15,000–$21,500 | $500 | 18–31 | Not stated | ~1–1.5 years | Online |
| University of New England | ME | $27,692 | $989 | 28 | 780 | ~2 years | Online |
| Davenport University | MI | $41,952 | $1,104 | 38 | Not stated | Flexible timeline | Online |
| Michigan State University | MI | $25,306–$31,894 | $937 | 27 | Not stated | ~18 months | Hybrid |
| Saginaw Valley State | MI | $19,200 | $800 | 24 | 540 | 2 years | Not stated |
| Spring Arbor University | MI | $15,000–$32,000 | $797 | Not stated | Not stated | ~18–24 months | Mostly Online |
| University of Michigan-Flint | MI | $17,000–$19,000 | $896 | 17–20 | 540 | 4 semesters | Online |
| Wayne State | MI | $16,356 | $564 | 29 | 620 | Up to 3 years | Not stated |
| St. Catherine University | MN | $28,800 | $1,200 | 23–24 | 810 | 1.5-2 years full-time | Hybrid |
| The College of St. Scholastica | MN | Not stated | $991 | Not stated | 960 | 4 semesters | Hybrid |
| University of Minnesota. | MN | $36,470 | $1,774 | 20 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| Winona State University | MN | $28,217 | $1,176 | 24–29 | 600 | ~2–2.5 yrs | Hybrid |
| Missouri Baptist University | MO | $18,648–$26,418 | $777 | 24–34 | Not stated | ~1–1.5 years | Online |
| Missouri State University | MO | $21,461 | $394 | 24 | 500 | ~1.5 years | Hybrid |
| Rockhurst University | MO | $22,980 | $780 | 22 | 750 | ~1.5 years (4 semesters or more) | Mostly Online |
| UMKC | MO | $16,610 | $923 | 18 | Not stated | ~2–3 years (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Missouri | MO | $15,876 | $662 | 24 | 750 | 2 yrs (part-time) | Online |
| University of Mississippi | MS | Not stated | $562 | Not stated | Not stated | ~1–2 years | Online |
| University of Southern Mississippi | MS | $16,016 | $572 | 28 | Not stated | ~1.5–2 years (5 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Montana State University | MT | $11,989 | $333 | 36 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years | Online |
| Duke University | NC | $58,500 | $2,250 | 26 | 560 | Varies by pace | Mostly Online |
| East Carolina University | NC | $11,286–$17,220 | Not stated | 23–35 | 550 | 1.5–2.5 yrs | Online |
| UNC Greensboro | NC | $6,868–$26,440 | $299 | 23 | 510 | 15 months; four consecutive semesters | Online |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | NC | $23,152 | $890 | 26 | 660 | about 2 years part-time, including one summer | Mostly Online |
| University of North Dakota | ND | $23,492 | $940 | 25 | 600 | 3 yrs (part-time, 6 semesters) | Online |
| Clarkson College | NE | $26,670 | $762 | 35 | Not stated | 4–7 semesters (FT); 7-10+ semesters part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center | NE | $14,320–$21,480 | $716 | 20–30 | Not stated | 1–2 years FT | Not stated |
| Rivier University | NH | $14,194–$32,101 | $747 | 19–43 | Not stated | 3–6 semesters | Mostly Online |
| University of New Hampshire | NH | $23,200 | $800 | 29 | 750 | ~16–17 months | Mostly Online |
| Fairleigh Dickinson | NJ | $32,100 | $1,284 | 25 | 750 | ~1.5–2 years (varies by gap analysis) | Online |
| Felician University | NJ | $16,653 | $793 | 21 | 750 | ~1.5–2 years | Not stated |
| Rowan University | NJ | $26,939 | $877 | 31 | 750 | ~2.5 years | Hybrid |
| Seton Hall University | NJ | $37,680–$61,230 | $1,570 | 24–39 | Not stated | 1.5–2 years | Mostly Online |
| Thomas Edison | NJ | Not stated | $719 | Not stated | Not stated | 1–2 years | Online |
| New Mexico State University | NM | $11,842 | $493 | 18–21 | 576 | 1 year | Mostly Online |
| University of New Mexico | NM | $7,500–$15,000 | $628 | 15 | Not stated | Variable (gap analysis) | Hybrid |
| UNLV | NV | $9,898 | $354 | 28 | 500 | ~2 years (four semesters) | Mostly Online |
| University of Nevada Reno | NV | $8,131–$13,433 | $354 | 23–38 | 720 | ~1–2 years (APRN vs. non-APRN) | Online |
| Adelphi University | NY | $32,490 | $1,710 | 19 | 500 | ~2 years (part-time) | Campus |
| D'Youville University | NY | $45,455 | $1,255 | 35 | 780 | 2.5–3 years | Online |
| Hofstra University | NY | $45,650 | $1,826 | 25 | Not stated | ~2 years | Not stated |
| Hunter College | NY | $12,690–$16,920 | $470 | 27–36 | 630 | ~1.5–2 years | Not stated |
| Mercy University | NY | $32,688 | $1,362 | 30 | 750 | ~2 years | Hybrid |
| Molloy University | NY | $40,770 | $1,510 | 27 | 580 | 1–2 years | Campus |
| NYU | NY | $44,928–$97,344 | $2,496 | 18–39 | Not stated | 1–2 years | Campus |
| Pace University | NY | $44,380–$58,645 | $1,585 | 28–37 | 760 | 1.5–2 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Russell Sage College | NY | $24,960 | $780 | 32 | Not stated | Varies | Mostly Online |
| Stony Brook University | NY | $10,368 | $471 | 22 | Not stated | 1–2 yrs | Online |
| University of Rochester | NY | $59,160 | $1,740 | 34 | 616 | 1 to 1.3 years | Mostly Online |
| Chamberlain University | National | $26,600 | $760 | 35 | Not stated | 5-5.5 semesters (~1.75 years) | Mostly Online |
| Purdue Global | National | $20,160 | $420 | 48 | Not stated | ~1.5 years (full-time) | Online |
| Rasmussen University | National | $28,417 | $464 | 53 | Not stated | ~21 months | Online |
| South College | National | $17,050 | $310 | 55 | 570 | approximately 18 months | Online |
| Walden University | National | $35,225 | $775 | 43 | 640 | Varies; 43 quarter credits | Online |
| Western Governors University | National | $21,465 | Not stated | 33 | 650 | Minimum 1.5 years | Not stated |
| Wilkes University | National | $21,779 | $751 | Not stated | 500 | 1.67 years (10 courses) | Online |
| Cleveland State University | OH | $22,921 | $637 | 36 | 780 | 1.25 yrs | Online |
| Kent State | OH | $20,829 | $613 | 25–34 | 675 | 1.5–2 yrs | Online |
| Mount Carmel | OH | $21,560–$24,500 | $980 | 22–25 | 500 | 12–18 mos | Mostly Online |
| Ohio State University | OH | $24,300–$34,000 | $973 | 25–35 | 600 | 1–2 yrs | Online |
| Ohio University | OH | $12,660 | $633 | 20 | 750 | ~1–1.5 yrs | Mostly Online |
| University of Toledo | OH | $15,000–$18,500 | $883 | 21–22 | 780 | ~1.5 yrs (PT) | Mostly Online |
| Ursuline College | OH | $15,584 | $974 | 16 | 500 | 1–1.5 yrs | Hybrid |
| Wright State University | OH | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Varies | Not stated |
| Oklahoma City University | OK | $22,885 | $995 | 23 | 720 | 1.5 yrs | Hybrid |
| The University of Oklahoma | OK | $23,803 | $626 | 38 | 768 | 2 yrs (FT); 3 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Scranton | PA | $31,845 | $965 | 33 | 750 | approximately 18 months (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Drexel University | PA | $39,746 | $1,169 | 34 | 640 | ~2 years (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Jefferson University | PA | $36,099 | $1,337 | 27 | Not stated | ~1.5–2 years | Not stated |
| Pennsylvania State University | PA | $23,851 | $1,037 | 23 | 600 | ~1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| York College | PA | $17,955 | $665 | 27 | 784 | 12 months (full-time) | Online |
| University of Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh | $43,520 | Not stated | 34 | 640 | 20 months | Not stated |
| University of Rhode Island | RI | $34,900–$36,700 | $1,836 | 19–20 | Not stated | 1.5–2 yrs | Campus |
| Salve Regina University | RI | $24,030–$25,440 | $801 | 30 | 750 | about 2 years | Mostly Online |
| Anderson University⚠️ Certified FNPs only | SC | $17,710 | $805 | 22 | 750 | ~1.25 years (15 months) | Mostly Online |
| Francis Marion University | SC | $18,900–$22,200 | $823 | 23–27 | 780 | 4 semesters | Online |
| Medical University of South Carolina | SC | $84,206 | Not stated | 23 | Not stated | ~1.5 years full-time | Not stated |
| University of South Carolina | SC | $18,000–$32,000 | $572 | 18–32 | Not stated | ~1–2 years | Mostly Online |
| South Dakota State University | SD | $11,520 | $640 | 18–19 | 540 | 2 yrs (part-time) | Online |
| East Tennessee State University | TN | $16,128 | $672 | 24 | Not stated | ~1.5-2 years (4 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Middle Tennessee State University | TN | $14,440 | $623 | 20 | 630 | 1-1.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Tennessee Tech University | TN | $18,216 | $792 | 23 | 560 | 1-1.5 years (4 semesters) | Online |
| University of Tennessee | TN | $20,845 | Not stated | 12 | Not stated | 1.5 years (4 semesters including summer) | Mostly Online |
| Vanderbilt University | TN | $24,684 | $2,057 | 12–29 | 500 | 1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| Midwestern State University | TX | $16,746 | $530 | 33 | 640 | ~1–1.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Texas A&M | TX | $14,500 | Not stated | 26 | Not stated | 2 years (five semesters) | Online |
| Texas Christian University | TX | $55,250 | $2,210 | 25 | Not stated | ~1.5 years (four semesters) | Online |
| Texas State University | TX | $10,980 | $499 | 20 | Not stated | 12–15 months | Online |
| Texas Tech University | TX | $13,608–$19,440 | $486 | 28–40 | 950 | ~2 years (current APRNs) to ~2.5–3 years (non-APRN) | Mostly Online |
| Texas Woman's University | TX | $11,313 | $418 | 27 | 780 | 1.5–2 years | Online |
| UT Health Houston | TX | $10,962–$11,340 | $378 | 29–30 | 660 | 1.5–2 years (completion time limit up to 3 years) | Hybrid |
| UT Health San Antonio | TX | $15,000–$20,000 | Not stated | 28 | 660 | 2 years | Hybrid |
| UTTyler | TX | $13,296–$18,836 | $554 | 24–34 | 750 | 1–1.5 years (APRN); 1.5–2 years (non-APRN) | Mostly Online |
| University of Texas at Arlington | TX | $10,000–$25,000 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1–2 years | Online |
| University of Texas at El Paso | TX | $22,099 | $552 | 40 | 675 | ~1.5–2 years | Hybrid |
| Rocky Mountain University | UT | $38,649–$39,195 | $1,005 | 39 | 540 | ~16 months (4 semesters) | Online |
| University of Utah | UT | $30,000 | $322 | 32 | Not stated | ~2 years | Mostly Online |
| George Mason University | VA | $14,852 | $646 | 23–32 | Not stated | 1-1.5 years full-time | Hybrid |
| Georgetown University | VA | $50,388 | $2,652 | 19 | 750 | 1.5 years (four semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Old Dominion University⚠️ Admissions on hold | VA | $8,748 | $486 | 18 | Not stated | ~12 months (3 semesters) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Shenandoah University | VA | $24,480–$29,580 | $1,020 | 24–29 | 600 | ~1.5–2 years (5 semesters) | Online |
| University of Virginia | VA | $17,366 | $914 | 19 | 560 | Varies by plan of study | Hybrid |
| Norwich University | VT | $24,750 | $825 | 30 | Not stated | 1–1.5 yrs | Online |
| Pacific Lutheran University | WA | $59,616 | $1,242 | 48 | 750 | 28 mo | Hybrid |
| Seattle University⚠️ Doctorate required | WA | $60,120 | $1,002 | 67 | Not stated | 3 years | Campus |
| Alverno College | WI | $18,000 | Not stated | 30 | 600 | 1.5–2 years | Hybrid |
| Bellin College | WI | $17,500–$21,000 | $816 | 21–25 | 760 | ~1.5-2 years | Online |
| Concordia University | WI | $14,400 | $800 | 21 | 500 | 1 year | Online |
| Edgewood University | WI | $29,484–$39,312 | $1,092 | Not stated | 750 | ~2.5 years | Online |
| Milwaukee School of Engineering | WI | $34,788 | $1,304 | 26 | 600 | ~1.4 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Wisconsin | WI | $13,500–$16,200 | Not stated | 18 | 500 | ~18 months (4 terms) | Hybrid |
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee | WI | $13,659 | Not stated | 18 | Not stated | 1 year | Hybrid |
| West Virginia University | WV | $17,703 | $843 | 21 | 540 | 1-1.5 years | Not stated |
Tuition estimates come from each school's published rates as summarized in our program profiles, using resident rates where they differ. Fees, books and travel are not included. ⚠️ marks programs with admission limits.
Most Affordable PMHNP Certificate Programs
These programs have the lowest estimated tuition among certificates with published cost figures. Resident rates are shown where in-state and out-of-state tuition differ.
- UNC Greensboro (NC): $6,868–$26,440 estimated tuition, 23 credits, Online
- Purdue University (IN): $7,000–$10,000 estimated tuition, 17 credits, Hybrid
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): $8,131–$13,433 estimated tuition, 23–38 credits, Online
- Florida Atlantic University (FL): $9,295 estimated tuition, 28 credits, Online
- Southeastern Louisiana University (LA): $9,500 estimated tuition, 18–20 credits, Online
- University of Louisiana at Lafayette (LA): $9,600 estimated tuition, 20 credits, Online
- Augusta University (GA): $9,702 estimated tuition, 22 credits, Hybrid
- UNLV (NV): $9,898 estimated tuition, 28 credits, Mostly Online
- University of Texas at Arlington (TX): $10,000–$25,000 estimated tuition, credits not stated credits, Online
- CSU Pueblo (CO): $10,014–$20,028 estimated tuition, 16–32 credits, Hybrid
Shortest PMHNP Certificate Programs
These programs list the shortest completion times. Actual length depends on your gap analysis and on whether you study full time.
- Purdue University (IN): ~8–12 months, $7,000–$10,000, Hybrid
- Augusta University (GA): ~1 year, $9,702, Hybrid
- Western Kentucky University (KY): ~1 year, $10,926, Hybrid
- CSU Fresno (Fresno State) (CA): 1 year (3 semesters from January to December), $12,600, format not stated
- University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (WI): 1 year, $13,659, Hybrid
- Georgia State University (GA): ~12 mo (3 sem), $14,044–$21,932, Mostly Online
- York College (PA): 12 months (full-time), $17,955, Online
- UCLA (CA): 1 year; full-time only, 4 consecutive quarters, $21,115–$36,297, Online
- University of St Francis (IL): ~12 mos, $25,110–$34,830, Online
- Johns Hopkins University (MD): 1 year (3 semesters) full-time, $33,915, Online
Fully Online PMHNP Certificates Under $15,000
These programs deliver all coursework online and list estimated tuition below $15,000. Clinical hours are still completed in person at approved sites.
- UNC Greensboro (NC): $6,868–$26,440, 23 credits
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): $8,131–$13,433, 23–38 credits
- Florida Atlantic University (FL): $9,295, 28 credits
- Southeastern Louisiana University (LA): $9,500, 18–20 credits
- University of Louisiana at Lafayette (LA): $9,600, 20 credits
- University of Texas at Arlington (TX): $10,000–$25,000, credits not stated credits
- Stony Brook University (NY): $10,368, 22 credits
- Florida State University (FL): $10,662, 24 credits
- Texas State University (TX): $10,980, 20 credits
- East Carolina University (NC): $11,286–$17,220, 23–35 credits
- Texas Woman’s University (TX): $11,313, 27 credits
- South Dakota State University (SD): $11,520, 18–19 credits
- Montana State University (MT): $11,989, 36 credits
- Indiana State (IN): $12,474, 27 credits
- University of Southern Indiana (IN): $12,920, 26 credits
- Arkansas State University (AR): $14,025, 28–36 credits
- Texas A&M (TX): $14,500, 26 credits
- Washburn University (KS): $14,540–$27,626, 20–38 credits
- University of North Florida (FL): $14,806, 30 credits
Who a PMHNP Certificate Is For
- Nurse practitioners adding psychiatry: FNPs, AGPCNPs and other APRNs who want to treat mental health conditions independently. Prior NP coursework often shortens the program.
- MSN nurses without NP certification: nurse educators, leaders and CNSs can enter some certificates, but they usually complete more courses, including advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology and health assessment.
- Nurses with a DNP: doctorally prepared nurses can use a certificate to add PMHNP preparation. A few programs are open only to nurses with a doctorate.
Admission rules vary. Some certificates admit only certified APRNs, and a few admit only certified FNPs. Check each school’s profile before applying.
Certificate vs. MSN vs. DNP
- Post-master’s certificate: for nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree. Shortest and least expensive route to PMHNP certification.
- BSN-to-MSN PMHNP: for BSN-prepared nurses. Usually 46 to 51 credits over 2 to 2.5 years.
- BSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for BSN nurses who want the doctorate in one program. Usually 71 to 80 credits over 3 to 4 years.
- MSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for MSN nurses who want PMHNP preparation and a DNP together.
How the Gap Analysis Works
Before you enroll, the school compares your transcript and prior clinical hours with PMHNP certification requirements. Courses you already completed at the graduate level, such as advanced pharmacology or health assessment, may be waived. The result sets your personal plan of study, which is why many programs list a range of credits and costs rather than a single figure.
Certification After Graduation
Graduates of accredited PMHNP certificate programs are eligible to sit for the ANCC PMHNP-BC board certification exam. After passing, you apply to your state board of nursing for authority to practice as a PMHNP. Requirements for prescribing and physician collaboration vary by state, so review the rules where you plan to work. For the full path from RN to PMHNP, see How to Become a PMHNP.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does a post-master’s PMHNP certificate take?
Most programs on this page take 12 to 24 months. The median program lists about 18 months at its shortest pace, and a few full-time options finish in 8 to 12 months. Length depends on how many credits your gap analysis waives.
How much does a post-master’s PMHNP certificate cost?
The median estimated tuition is about $21,500. The middle half of programs falls between about $14,500 and $30,000, with per-credit rates usually between $585 and $995. Public universities charging resident tuition are generally the least expensive.
Can I complete a PMHNP certificate online?
Yes. About 4 in 10 programs deliver coursework fully online, and about 8 in 10 are fully or mostly online. Clinical hours are always completed in person, usually at approved sites near where you live.
Do I need to be a nurse practitioner to enroll?
It depends on the program. Many certificates are designed for nurses who already hold APRN certification, such as FNPs adding psychiatric care. Others admit any nurse with an MSN, which usually means more required courses. A few admit only certified FNPs or only nurses with a doctorate.
What is a gap analysis?
A gap analysis is the school’s review of your prior graduate coursework and clinical hours. It decides which courses and hours you still need to meet PMHNP certification requirements, so two students in the same certificate can take a different number of credits.
How many clinical hours does a PMHNP certificate require?
Programs on this page list 500 to 960 supervised clinical hours, with a median of about 640. Some schools credit clinical hours from a prior NP program, which can reduce what you complete.
What certification exam do graduates take?
Graduates are eligible for the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) board certification exam, PMHNP-BC, which is the national certification for PMHNPs.