A BSN-to-MSN Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) program is the most direct graduate route from registered nurse to psychiatric nurse practitioner. It is built for nurses who hold a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and prepares graduates for PMHNP board certification with a Master of Science in Nursing, in less time and for less money than a BSN-to-DNP.
We compared 149 online and campus MSN PMHNP programs across 42 states. The table below lists estimated tuition, cost per credit, credits, clinical hours, length and delivery format for each program, drawn from our individual school profiles. Most programs are online or mostly online, and most take 2 to 2.5 years of full-time study.
MSN PMHNP Programs at a Glance
- Typical cost: about $29,000 to $51,700 in estimated tuition, with a median near $40,000.
- Per-credit rates: most programs charge $580 to $1,000 per credit.
- Credits: usually 46 to 51, with a median of 48.
- Clinical hours: 500 to 950 supervised hours, with a median of about 675.
- Length: 2 to 2.5 years full time for most programs; the shortest take about 15 to 18 months.
- Format: about a third of programs are fully online and 8 in 10 are online or mostly online.
Compare BSN-to-MSN PMHNP Programs
Filter by state or delivery format, and select a column heading to sort. Select a school name for its full profile, including admission requirements, course lists and clinical placement details.
| School | State | Est. Tuition | Per Credit | Credits | Clinical Hours | Length | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samford University | AL | $48,000 | $1,000 | 48 | 750 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| University of Alabama | AL | $25,440 | $480 | 53 | 780 | 3.5–4.5 years | Mostly Online |
| University of North Alabama | AL | $25,010 | $610 | 41 | 500 | 1–2 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of South Alabama | AL | $27,405 | $609 | 45 | 600 | 3–4 years | Online |
| Arkansas State University | AR | $24,225 | $500 | 48 | 750 | About 2 years (26 months) | Online |
| University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | AR | $26,880 | $525 | 48 | 770 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Grand Canyon University | AZ | $40,280 | $760 | 53 | 750 | ~3–3.5 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Northern Arizona University | AZ | $58,300–$65,700 | $698 | 51 | Not stated | 2–2.5 yrs | Online |
| University of Phoenix | AZ | $30,420 | $540 | 52 | 600 | ~30 mos | Mostly Online |
| Azusa Pacific University | CA | $48,330–$50,120 | $895 | 54–56 | Not stated | ~2–3 years | Not stated |
| Charles R Drew | CA | $106,500 | Not stated | 59 | 630 | 5 semesters (approximately 2.5 years) full-time | Hybrid |
| National University | CA | $51,660 | $675 | 58 | 540 | 19 months | Mostly Online |
| San Diego University | CA | $119,340 | $2,210 | 54 | 768 | 2 years (full-time) | Campus |
| CSU Pueblo | CO | $35,050–$38,805 | $626 | 56–62 | 810 | 3 years (7 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Regis University | CO | $50,640 | $1,055 | 48 | 630 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Online |
| University of Colorado | CO | $42,640 | $820 | 52 | 630 | 2.5 years (7 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Fairfield University | CT | $60,770 | $1,030 | 59 | 750 | ~3 years (part-time) | Campus |
| Goodwin University | CT | $52,000 | $949 | 50 | 600 | ~3.5 years (as few as seven semesters part-time) | Not stated |
| Quinnipiac University | CT | $56,715 | $995 | 57 | Not stated | 2+ years | Mostly Online |
| Sacred Heart University | CT | $40,110 | $955 | 42 | 540 | 2.5 years (full time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Saint Joseph | CT | $52,217 | $1,111 | 24 | 750 | ~3.5 years part-time across 7 semesters | Hybrid |
| Western Connecticut State | CT | $31,000–$40,000 | Not stated | 47 | 540 | 3–4 years (part-time) | Hybrid |
| Yale | CT | $110,818 | $2,071 | 51–52 | 750 | ~3 years (part-time only) | Mostly Online |
| Delaware State University | DE | $25,830 | $500 | 47 | 765 | 2.7 years (8 semesters); about 2 years and 8 months | Online |
| University of Delaware | DE | $43,824 | $913 | 48 | 816 | 3 years (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Florida Southern College | FL | $34,070 | $680 | 44 | 540 | ~2.5 years (6 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Jacksonville University | FL | $36,750 | $750 | 49 | Not stated | ~1.75-2.75 years (21 months FT / 33 months PT) | Campus |
| St Thomas University | FL | $30,250 | $605 | 50 | 500 | ~1.5 years | Online |
| University of St Augustine | FL | $52,427 | $953 | 55 | 754 | 2-3 years (6-9 trimesters) | Online |
| Georgia College & State University | GA | $15,327 | $393 | 39 | 570 | 2-3 years (6 semesters FT / 9 PT) | Mostly Online |
| Georgia State University | GA | $25,572 | $464 | 48 | 590 | 20 mo (5 sem FT); 7 semesters part-time | Mostly Online |
| Mercer University | GA | $56,791 | $1,159 | 49 | 780 | 17–28 months (FT/PT) | Hybrid |
| Valdosta State University | GA | $18,924 | $332 | 57 | 675 | About 8 semesters | Hybrid |
| Hawai‘i Pacific University | HI | $53,616 | $1,117 | 48 | 630 | ~28 mos | Online |
| Allen College | IA | $46,335 | $962 | 45 | 525 | 3 years full-time; 4+ years part-time | Mostly Online |
| Briar Cliff University | IA | $35,483 | $585 | 55 | 750 | 3 years (PT), 8 semesters including 2 summers | Mostly Online |
| Bradley University | IL | $59,058 | $1,158 | 51 | 750 | 2.7 years (8 semesters) | Online |
| DePaul University | IL | Not stated | $852 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Online |
| North Central College | IL | $43,100 | $861 | 47 | 525 | ~3.5 yrs (9 sem.) | Mostly Online |
| University of St Francis | IL | $39,010 | $830 | 47–56 | Not stated | 24–48 mos | Online |
| Indiana Wesleyan University | IN | $33,075 | $675 | 49 | 525 | ~28 months | Mostly Online |
| Purdue University | IN | $22,482 | Not stated | 49 | 650 | ~2 years | Hybrid |
| University of Southern Indiana | IN | $24,065–$26,265 | $447 | 44 | Not stated | 2.5–3 years | Online |
| University of Saint Mary | KS | $41,104 | $775 | 53 | 700 | ~2 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Bellarmine University | KY | $42,535 | $820 | 47 | 810 | ~2 years (24 months) | Mostly Online |
| Frontier Nursing University | KY | $36,240 | $755 | 48 | 750 | ~2–2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Northern Kentucky University | KY | $29,177 | $600 | 47 | 750 | ~22 months | Not stated |
| University of Louisville | KY | Not stated | $850 | Not stated | 756 | 2–3 years | Hybrid |
| Western Kentucky University⚠️ One year of psychiatric RN experience required | KY | $26,101 | $607 | 43 | 750 | ~4 years part-time | Hybrid |
| Loyola University | LA | $43,365 | $885 | 49 | 860 | ~2.5–3 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Southeastern Louisiana University | LA | $22,800–$24,225 | $475 | 48–51 | 600 | 2–2.5 years | Online |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | LA | $23,040–$24,480 | $480 | 48–51 | 600 | 2–2.5 years (full-time) | Online |
| Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences | MA | $54,540 | $1,275 | 42 | 750 | 27 months (seven consecutive semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Northeastern University | MA | $44,505 | $1,035 | 43 | Not stated | 2–3 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Regis College | MA | $44,562–$54,111 | $1,061 | 42–51 | Not stated | about 26 months for BSN entrants (table 26–38 mos incl. ADN entry) | Online |
| Simmons University | MA | $63,112 | $1,288 | 49 | 756 | 24–32 mos (6 terms FT, 8 terms PT) | Mostly Online |
| Westfield State University⚠️ Pending accreditation; first cohort Fall 2026 | MA | $33,120 | $690 | 48 | Not stated | 2 yrs (FT), 3 yrs (PT) | Online |
| Frostburg State University | MD | $32,640 | $544 | 60 | 765 | about 2.3 years (7 consecutive semesters) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Husson University | ME | $34,782 | $682 | 51 | 600 | 2.5 years (accelerated 24-month track available) | Online |
| University of Maine Fort Kent | ME | $21,500 | $500 | 43 | Not stated | ~1.25 years full-time (as few as 15 months) | Online |
| University of New England | ME | $45,494 | $989 | 46 | 780 | ~2 years (full-time) | Online |
| University of Southern Maine | ME | $40,800 | $574 | 51 | 600 | 3 years (6-7 semesters full-time; 7-8 part-time) | Not stated |
| Davenport University | MI | $51,888 | $1,104 | 47 | Not stated | < 2 years full-time | Online |
| Michigan State University | MI | $50,613–$63,788 | $937 | 54 | Not stated | 2–3 years (full-time) | Hybrid |
| Spring Arbor University | MI | $39,850 | $797 | 50 | 500 | ~2 years 5 months | Mostly Online |
| Wayne State | MI | $29,328 | $564 | 52 | 620 | 2–3 years | Not stated |
| Missouri Baptist University | MO | $38,073 | $777 | 49 | Not stated | ~2 years full-time (6 semesters) | Online |
| Missouri State University | MO | $20,814 | $394 | 53 | Not stated | ~3 years | Hybrid |
| Rockhurst University | MO | $44,040 | $780 | 49–51 | 750 | 2 years full-time (6 semesters); 2 years 7 months part-time | Mostly Online |
| UMKC | MO | $42,447 | $923 | 46 | 660 | ~2.5 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Missouri | MO | $31,752 | $662 | 48 | 750 | about 2 years full-time or 3 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Mississippi | MS | $25,852 | $562 | 46 | 630 | ~2 years full-time | Online |
| Duke University | NC | $110,250 | $2,250 | 49 | 560 | about 4 years with a fall entry or 3.5 years with a spring entry | Mostly Online |
| East Carolina University | NC | $22,200 | $472 | 47 | 550 | 2.5–3 yrs (full-time), seven semesters | Online |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | NC | $42,033 | $890 | 47 | 660 | about 2 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of North Dakota | ND | $46,043 | $940 | 49 | Not stated | 3.5 yrs (part-time, 7 semesters) | Online |
| Clarkson College | NE | $38,862 | $762 | 51 | Not stated | 2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center | NE | $35,800 | $716 | 50 | Not stated | 2–3 years FT | Online |
| Rivier University | NH | $32,021 | $747 | 43 | Not stated | 2–3 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of New Hampshire | NH | $40,000 | $800 | 52 | 750 | ~2.5 years (30 months) | Mostly Online |
| Fairleigh Dickinson | NJ | $55,212 | $1,284 | 43 | 750 | ~2.5 years | Online |
| Felician University | NJ | $30,927 | $793 | 39 | 750 | ~2 years | Mostly Online |
| Rowan University | NJ | $34,760 | $877 | 22 | 750 | 3–5 years | Hybrid |
| Seton Hall University | NJ | $76,930 | $1,570 | 49 | 600 | 2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| Thomas Edison | NJ | $33,074 | $719 | 46 | Not stated | 2–3 years | Online |
| UNLV | NV | $16,261 | $354 | 46 | 500 | ~2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Nevada Reno | NV | $17,068 | $354 | 48–50 | 780 | ~2 years | Online |
| Adelphi University | NY | $73,530 | $1,710 | 43 | 500 | ~3 years (part-time) | Campus |
| D'Youville University | NY | $56,730 | $1,255 | 45 | 780 | 2.5–3.5 years depending on enrollment pace | Online |
| Hofstra University | NY | $89,474 | $1,826 | 49 | 720 | 3 years (full-time) | Not stated |
| Hunter College | NY | $22,560 | $470 | 48 | 630 | ~2–3 years | Not stated |
| Mercy University | NY | $58,566 | $1,362 | 43 | 750 | ~4 years | Hybrid |
| Molloy University | NY | $63,420 | $1,510 | 42 | 580 | 2–3 years | Campus |
| NYU | NY | $127,296 | $2,496 | 51 | Not stated | 3–4 years (part-time only) | Campus |
| Pace University | NY | $77,665 | $1,585 | 49 | 760 | ~2 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Russell Sage College | NY | $41,580–$47,520 | $990 | 42–48 | 500 | 2.5 yrs (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | NY | $28,260–$64,380 | $471 | 60 | 750 | ~2.5 yrs (part-time); about 7 semesters | Hybrid |
| St. John Fisher University | NY | $60,210 | $1,193 | 50 | 600 | 2.6 years | Mostly Online |
| Stony Brook University | NY | $21,206–$50,580 | $471 | 45 | Not stated | 2.5–3 yrs | Online |
| University of Rochester | NY | $87,000 | $1,740 | 50 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years | Mostly Online |
| Chamberlain University | National | $35,720 | $760 | 47 | 625 | ~2.5 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| Nightingale College | National | $34,750 | $550 | 55 | 810 | 2 years (6 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Post University | National | $30,508–$32,272 | Not stated | 51–54 | 630 | 34 months | Online |
| Purdue Global | National | $32,760 | $420 | 78 | Not stated | ~2 years (full-time) | Online |
| Rasmussen University | National | $50,380 | $915 | 69 | Not stated | ~27 months | Online |
| South College | National | $25,155 | $310 | 81 | 570 | 21 months (full-time) | Online |
| Walden University | National | $44,705 | Not stated | 63 | 640 | ~2.5 years full-time | Online |
| Western Governors University | National | $35,775 | Not stated | 51 | 650 | Minimum 2.5 years | Not stated |
| Wilkes University | National | $31,542 | $751 | 42 | 500 | 2.3 years (15 courses) | Online |
| Cleveland State University | OH | $30,562 | $637 | 48 | 780 | 2 yrs (full-time), six semesters | Online |
| Kent State | OH | $28,181 | $613 | 46 | 675 | 2 yrs FT, 3–4 PT | Online |
| Mount Carmel | OH | $45,080 | $980 | 46 | 500 | ~18 mos | Mostly Online |
| Ohio State University | OH | $60,295 | $973 | 62 | 600 | 2–2.5 yrs | Online |
| Ohio University | OH | $23,360 | $584 | 40 | 750 | ~2 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Toledo | OH | $38,000–$46,000 | $883 | 52 | 780 | ~2.5–3 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Ursuline College | OH | $56,742 | $1,351 | 42 | 500 | 2–2.5 yrs | Hybrid |
| Wright State University | OH | $35,880 | $780 | 46 | 560 | 2–3 yrs | Hybrid |
| University of Scranton | PA | $40,530 | $965 | 42 | 750 | 21 months (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Drexel University | PA | $79,300 | $1,525 | 52 | 640 | ~2 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Jefferson University | PA | $48,132–$60,165 | $1,337 | Not stated | 750 | ~2–3 years | Not stated |
| University of Pennsylvania | PA | $103,526 | Not stated | 30 | Not stated | 1.5-2 years (table); 14 months full-time in text | Campus |
| York College | PA | $33,250–$34,750 | $665 | 50 | 784 | 32–36 months (full-time) | Online |
| University of Rhode Island | RI | $86,300 | $1,836 | 47 | 750 | 2.5–5 yrs (about 2.5 years full-time or up to 5 years part-time) | Campus |
| Salve Regina University | RI | $40,851–$43,248 | $801 | 51 | 750 | about 3 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| Anderson University | SC | $41,055 | $805 | 51 | 750 | ~2.5 years full-time (5 semesters FT or 8 PT) | Mostly Online |
| Francis Marion University | SC | $45,300 | $823 | 55 | 780 | 2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Medical University of South Carolina | SC | $65,082 | Not stated | 60 | Not stated | ~2 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of South Carolina | SC | $45,828 | $572 | 47 | 672 | ~2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Austin Peay | TN | $21,000 | $500 | 42 | Not stated | ~3 years | Mostly Online |
| East Tennessee State University | TN | $32,256 | $672 | 48 | 540 | 2 years (5 semesters) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Middle Tennessee State University⚠️ Tennessee residents only | TN | $29,324–$30,324 | $623 | 42 | 630 | 2-2.5 years | Mostly Online |
| Tennessee Tech University | TN | $35,640 | $792 | 45 | Not stated | 2-2.5 years full-time | Online |
| Vanderbilt University | TN | $94,622 | $2,057 | 46 | 560 | 16 months (4 full-time semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Midwestern State University | TX | $22,024 | $530 | 48 | 640 | ~2 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Texas A&M | TX | $14,500–$21,750 | Not stated | 50 | Not stated | 2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| Texas State University | TX | $22,150 | $499 | 40 | Not stated | 18 months | Online |
| Texas Tech University | TX | $23,814 | $486 | 49 | 950 | 2 years full-time (3 years part-time) | Mostly Online |
| Texas Woman's University⚠️ Texas residents only; psychiatric RN experience required | TX | $18,855 | $418 | 45 | 780 | 2–3 years depending on full-time or part-time | Online |
| UTTyler | TX | $27,150 | $554 | 49 | 750 | 2–3 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Texas at Arlington | TX | $23,000–$30,000 | Not stated | 46 | 720 | 2–3 years | Online |
| University of Texas at El Paso | TX | $27,049 | $552 | 49 | 675 | ~2.5 years (7 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Rocky Mountain University | UT | $58,469–$61,295 | $1,005 | 59 | 540 | ~20 months (5 semesters) | Online |
| Old Dominion University | VA | $19,440 | $486 | 40 | 504 | ~2 years (5 semesters) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Shenandoah University | VA | $46,920 | $1,020 | 46 | 600 | ~2–2.5 years (7 semesters) | Online |
| University of Virginia | VA | $51,512 | Not stated | 42 | 560 | 2 years (accelerated full-time) | Hybrid |
| Norwich University | VT | $44,550 | $825 | 54 | 660 | 2 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Gonzaga University | WA | $57,600 | $1,225 | 47 | 660 | 3 years (9 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Alverno College | WI | $42,000 | $1,000 | 42 | 750 | 2–3 years (full time) | Hybrid |
| Bellin College | WI | $40,800–$41,000 | $816 | 49 | 760 | 2 years full-time (3 years part-time) | Online |
| Edgewood University | WI | $55,692 | $1,092 | 54 | 750 | 3 years (full time) | Online |
| Milwaukee School of Engineering | WI | $61,548 | $1,304 | 46 | 630 | ~1.75 years | Mostly Online |
| Marshall University | WV | $20,664 | Not stated | 48 | 780 | 2-3 years | Mostly Online |
Tuition estimates come from each school's published rates as summarized in our program profiles, using resident rates where they differ. Fees, books and travel are not included. ⚠️ marks programs with admission limits.
Most Affordable MSN PMHNP Programs
These programs have the lowest estimated tuition among MSN programs with published cost figures. Resident rates are shown where in-state and out-of-state tuition differ, and programs limited to in-state residents are not included.
- UNLV (NV): $16,261 estimated tuition, 46 credits, Mostly Online
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): $17,068 estimated tuition, 48–50 credits, Online
- Valdosta State University (GA): $18,753 estimated tuition, 57 credits, Hybrid
- Old Dominion University (VA): $19,440 estimated tuition, 40 credits, Mostly Online
- Purdue University (IN): $20,000–$27,000 estimated tuition, 49 credits, Hybrid
- Missouri State University (MO): $20,814 estimated tuition, 53 credits, Hybrid
- Austin Peay (TN): $21,000 estimated tuition, 42 credits, Mostly Online
- Stony Brook University (NY): $21,206–$50,580 estimated tuition, 45 credits, Online
- University of Maine Fort Kent (ME): $21,500 estimated tuition, 43 credits, Online
- University of Southern Indiana (IN): $21,865 estimated tuition, 44 credits, Online
Shortest MSN PMHNP Programs
These programs list the shortest full-time completion times. Part-time study takes longer, and some programs admit only full-time students.
- University of Maine Fort Kent (ME): ~1.25 years full-time (as few as 15 months), $21,500, Online
- Vanderbilt University (TN): 16 months (4 full-time semesters), $94,622, Mostly Online
- Mercer University (GA): 17–28 months (FT/PT), $56,791, Hybrid
- Texas State University (TX): 18 months, $22,150, Online
- St Thomas University (FL): ~1.5 years, $30,250, Online
- Mount Carmel (OH): ~18 mos, $45,080, Mostly Online
- Georgia State University (GA): 20 mo (5 sem FT); 7 semesters part-time, $25,572, Mostly Online
- Rocky Mountain University (UT): ~20 months (5 semesters), $58,469–$61,295, Online
- South College (National): 21 months (full-time), $25,155, Online
- Jacksonville University (FL): ~1.75-2.75 years (21 months FT / 33 months PT), $36,750, Campus
Fully Online MSN PMHNP Programs Under $25,000
These programs deliver all coursework online and list estimated tuition below $25,000. Clinical hours are still completed in person at approved sites.
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): $17,068, 48–50 credits
- Stony Brook University (NY): $21,206–$50,580, 45 credits
- University of Maine Fort Kent (ME): $21,500, 43 credits
- University of Southern Indiana (IN): $21,865, 44 credits
- Texas State University (TX): $22,150, 40 credits
- East Carolina University (NC): $22,200, 47 credits
- Southeastern Louisiana University (LA): $22,800–$24,225, 48–51 credits
- University of Texas at Arlington (TX): $23,000–$30,000, 46 credits
- University of Louisiana at Lafayette (LA): $23,040–$24,480, 48–51 credits
- Arkansas State University (AR): $24,225, 48 credits
Who a BSN-to-MSN PMHNP Program Is For
- BSN-prepared registered nurses: the standard applicant. Most programs require an active, unencumbered RN license in the state where you will complete clinical hours.
- Nurses with psychiatric or behavioral health experience: not always required, but some programs ask for it and it strengthens any application.
- Nurses who may want a doctorate later: the MSN gets you into practice sooner, and an MSN-to-DNP can be added once you are working as a PMHNP.
- RNs without a BSN: a few schools offer RN-to-MSN or ADN-to-MSN pathways. These are noted in the individual school profiles.
What to Check Before You Apply
- Clinical placement support: some schools find preceptors for you, while others require you to secure your own sites. This is often the biggest practical difference between online programs.
- Campus visits: mostly online programs require a set number of campus intensives. Count the trips and their cost before comparing tuition.
- State eligibility: online programs cannot enroll students in every state, and a few public programs admit only in-state residents, such as Middle Tennessee State University and Texas Woman’s University.
- Full-time vs. part-time pace: published lengths usually assume full-time study. Part-time plans can add a year or more.
MSN vs. DNP vs. Certificate
- BSN-to-MSN PMHNP: for BSN-prepared nurses. Usually about 48 credits over 2 to 2.5 years. Fastest route from BSN to PMHNP practice.
- BSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for BSN nurses who want the doctorate in one program. Usually 71 to 80 credits over 3 to 4 years.
- Post-master’s PMHNP certificate: for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP. The usual route from MSN to PMHNP, with a median of 26 credits.
- MSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for MSN nurses who want PMHNP preparation and a DNP together.
Certification After Graduation
Graduates of accredited MSN PMHNP programs are eligible to sit for the ANCC PMHNP-BC board certification exam. After passing, you apply to your state board of nursing for authority to practice as a PMHNP. Prescribing and physician collaboration rules vary by state, so review the requirements where you plan to work. For the full path from RN to PMHNP, see How to Become a PMHNP.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does a BSN-to-MSN PMHNP program take?
Most programs take 2 to 2.5 years of full-time study. Part-time plans usually run 3 years or longer, and the shortest full-time programs on this page finish in about 15 to 18 months.
How much does an MSN PMHNP program cost?
The median estimated tuition is about $40,000. The middle half of programs falls between about $29,000 and $51,700, with per-credit rates usually between $580 and $1,000. Public universities charging resident tuition are generally the least expensive.
Can I earn an MSN PMHNP degree online?
Yes. About a third of programs deliver coursework fully online, and about 8 in 10 are online or mostly online, meaning online classes plus a few required campus visits. Clinical hours are always completed in person at approved sites.
Do I need psychiatric nursing experience to apply?
Some programs require registered nurse experience before admission, and a few require it in psychiatric or mental health nursing specifically. Western Kentucky University, for example, asks for one year of psychiatric RN experience. Check each school’s profile for its admission requirements.
Should I choose an MSN or a DNP?
Both prepare you for the same PMHNP board certification. The MSN is shorter and less expensive, usually about 48 credits over 2 to 2.5 years. A BSN-to-DNP usually requires 71 to 80 credits over 3 to 4 years. You can also earn the MSN first and add a DNP later through an MSN-to-DNP program.
I already have an MSN. Do I need a second master’s degree?
No. Nurses who already hold an MSN usually complete a post-master’s PMHNP certificate instead, which is shorter and less expensive than a second MSN.
What certification exam do graduates take?
Graduates are eligible for the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) board certification exam, PMHNP-BC, which is the national certification for PMHNPs.