A BSN-to-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) program takes a nurse with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing straight to a Doctor of Nursing Practice, with full preparation for PMHNP board certification along the way. It leads to the same clinical role as an MSN, with added doctoral coursework in quality improvement, leadership and evidence-based practice, finished with a DNP project.
We compared 119 BSN-to-DNP PMHNP programs across 44 states. The table below lists estimated tuition, cost per credit, credits, clinical hours, length and delivery format for each program, drawn from our individual school profiles. Most programs take 3 to 4 years of full-time study, and about two-thirds are online or mostly online.
BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs at a Glance
- Typical cost: about $44,100 to $90,200 in estimated tuition, with a median near $65,600.
- Per-credit rates: most programs charge $615 to $1,075 per credit.
- Credits: usually 71 to 80, with a median of 75.
- Clinical hours: 600 to 1,334 listed, with a median of 1,000, including DNP project hours.
- Length: 3 to 4 years full time for most programs; a few take about 2.5 years.
- Format: about 1 in 5 programs are fully online and about 2 in 3 are online or mostly online.
Compare BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs
Filter by state or delivery format, and select a column heading to sort. Select a school name for its full profile, including admission requirements, course lists and DNP project details.
| School | State | Est. Tuition | Per Credit | Credits | Clinical Hours | Length | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Alabama | AL | Not stated | $480 | Not stated | 1,000 | 3–4 years | Mostly Online |
| University of South Alabama | AL | $42,021 | $609 | 69 | 1,140 | 5–6 years | Online |
| University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences | AR | $40,040 | $525 | 72 | 1,120 | 3 years (8 semesters); 4-year 11-semester plan also published | Mostly Online |
| Arizona State University | AZ | $45,000–$60,000 | $952 | 85 | 1,125 | 3–4 yrs (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Arizona | AZ | $74,081 | $1,058 | 70 | 810 | 2.5 yrs (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Loma Linda University | CA | $117,468 | $1,004 | 117 | 1,080 | 3.75 years (15 quarters) | Hybrid |
| San Diego University | CA | $170,170 | $2,210 | 77 | 1,000 | 3 years full-time (4 years part-time) | Campus |
| University of California San Francisco | CA | $130,484–$171,656 | Not stated | Not stated | 1,000 | 3 years (11 quarters) | Hybrid |
| University of San Francisco | CA | $126,126 | $1,635 | 77 | Not stated | 4 years (full-time), 10 semesters | Hybrid |
| CSU Pueblo | CO | $55,817–$56,498 | $681 | 86–87 | 1,320 | 4 years (11 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Regis University | CO | $79,448–$84,988 | $1,108 | 74–79 | 1,000 | 4–5 years | Online |
| University of Colorado | CO | $63,960 | $820 | 78 | 1,000 | 3 years (9 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Fairfield University | CT | $91,650 | $1,175 | 78 | 1,000 | ~3–4 years (FT/PT) | Campus |
| University of Delaware | DE | $82,584 | $1,116 | 74 | 1,016 | 3 years (full-time); 5-year part-time option | Mostly Online |
| Wilmington University | DE | $52,441 | Not stated | 79 | 750 | 3.5 years (7 semesters) | Online |
| Florida Atlantic University | FL | $26,770 | $372 | 72 | 1,000 | ~3.5 years (11 semesters) | Hybrid |
| Florida State University | FL | $33,764 | $444 | 76 | 1,000 | ~3 years | Mostly Online |
| Jacksonville University | FL | $48,000–$56,300 | $750 | 64 | Not stated | ~3 years (9 semesters) | Campus |
| University of Florida | FL | $40,332 | $531 | 76 | 1,260 | ~4 years | Online |
| University of North Florida | FL | $46,392 | $494 | 94 | 1,140 | Not stated | Mostly Online |
| University of St Augustine | FL | $91,525 | $1,189 | 77 | 1,334 | ~4 years | Online |
| Augusta University | GA | $42,312 | $441 | 77 | 1,183 | 3 years (full-time); 4 years part-time | Hybrid |
| Emory University | GA | $166,564 | $1,936 | 86 | 1,080 | ~2.5 years (7 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Georgia College & State University | GA | $31,047 | $393 | 79 | 1,190 | 3 yrs (9 semesters FT) | Mostly Online |
| Georgia Southern University | GA | $21,006 | Not stated | 77 | 720 | 3 years | Online |
| Mercer University | GA | $98,984 | $1,286 | 77 | 1,020 | 2.5–3 years (8 semesters) | Hybrid |
| University of Hawaii | HI | $61,500 | $820 | 75 | 810 | 3 yrs (full-time); eight semesters | Hybrid |
| Allen College | IA | $68,136 | $962 | 68 | 925 | 3 years full-time; 5 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Iowa | IA | $89,566 | $1,191 | 76 | 1,000 | 3–4 years | Hybrid |
| Idaho State University | ID | $64,544 | $613 | 78 | 1,008 | 3 yrs (8 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Bradley University | IL | $83,376 | $1,158 | 72 | 1,000 | 3.7 years (11 semesters) | Online |
| DePaul University | IL | $68,160 | $852 | 80 | Not stated | Not stated | Online |
| Loyola University | IL | $93,240–$95,830 | $1,295 | 72–74 | Not stated | 4–5 years | Mostly Online |
| Rosalind Franklin University | IL | $121,600–$122,700 | $861 | 137 | 1,120 | 3–4 years (36-month FT or 48-month PT) | Mostly Online |
| Rush University | IL | $101,524 | $1,493 | 68 | 1,008 | ~4 years (PT) | Online |
| University of Illinois Chicago | IL | $92,578 | $1,129 | 82 | Not stated | 3–5 years | Hybrid |
| Indiana University | IN | $48,510 | Not stated | 66 | 1,005 | 3 years full-time (4 years part-time) | Not stated |
| Indiana Wesleyan University | IN | $65,284 | $859 | 76 | 1,000 | ~48 months | Mostly Online |
| Purdue University | IN | $36,016 | Not stated | 78–80 | 1,162 | ~3 years | Hybrid |
| University of Southern Indiana | IN | $42,980–$46,580 | $447 | 72 | Not stated | 4–5 years | Online |
| KU Medical Center | KS | $48,614 | $471 | 79 | 1,000 | 4 years | Not stated |
| Washburn University | KS | $54,525 | $727 | 75 | 1,020 | ~4.5 years (9 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Wichita State | KS | $42,070 | $501 | 73–74 | Not stated | 3.5 years | Not stated |
| University of Louisville | KY | Not stated | $850 | Not stated | 1,000 | ~3 years | Hybrid |
| LSU Health | LA | $87,570 | $973 | 90 | 1,080 | 3 years | Campus |
| Southeastern Louisiana University⚠️ Clinicals must be in Louisiana | LA | $36,100 | $475 | 76 | Not stated | 3–3.5 years | Online |
| UMass Chan Medical School | MA | $66,697 | $825 | 70–73 | Not stated | 3 yrs (FT) | Mostly Online |
| University of Massachusetts Amherst | MA | $62,000 | $825 | 75 | 728 | 4–5 yrs | Online |
| University of Massachusetts Dartmouth | MA | $50,362 | $617 | 67 | 1,008 | 4 yrs (5 PT) | Mostly Online |
| Johns Hopkins University | MD | $156,332 | $2,057 | 76 | 1,040 | 3 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Maryland | MD | $93,566 | $926 | 81 | 1,035 | 3–4 years (full time) | Hybrid |
| Michigan State University | MI | $65,575–$82,688 | $937 | 70 | Not stated | 3–4 years (full-time) | Hybrid |
| University of Michigan-Flint | MI | $67,000–$68,000 | $896 | 72 | 900 | 2.7 yrs (FT) – 3.7 yrs (PT) | Mostly Online |
| Wayne State | MI | Not stated | $564 | 81 | 820 | Varies | Not stated |
| St. Catherine University | MN | $81,600 | $1,200 | 67–68 | 810 | 3 years full-time (4-year option) | Hybrid |
| University of Minnesota. | MN | $88,000 | $1,100 | 80 | 1,000 | 3 years full-time (4-year plan available) | Mostly Online |
| Winona State University | MN | $84,650 | $1,176 | 72 | 1,080 | 3–4 yrs | Hybrid |
| Missouri State University | MO | $31,280 | $394 | 79 | 1,200 | 4 years | Hybrid |
| UMKC⚠️ Track being updated; confirm it is open | MO | $69,206–$69,900 | $923 | 74–75 | 1,031 | ~4 years full-time or 5 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Missouri | MO | $47,628–$49,283 | $662 | 72–75 | 1,000 | 4–5 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| University of Mississippi | MS | $42,150 | $562 | 75 | 1,230 | ~3 years full-time | Online |
| University of Southern Mississippi | MS | $41,756 | $572 | 73 | Not stated | ~3 years (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Montana State University⚠️ Open to students in MT, UT, WY, ID, CO or AK | MT | $27,285 | $333 | 82 | Not stated | 3 years (4 years part-time) | Online |
| North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University | NC | $28,900–$88,470 | $299 | 70 | 1,040 | 3 yrs (full-time), year-round across 9 semesters | Mostly Online |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | NC | $33,168–$101,372 | $461 | 73 | 1,000 | about 4 years full-time, with a part-time option | Mostly Online |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | NC | $66,094 | $890 | 74 | 660 | about 3 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of North Dakota | ND | $79,871 | $940 | 85 | Not stated | Not stated | Online |
| Clarkson College | NE | $72,854 | $998 | 73 | Not stated | 3–4 years | Mostly Online |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center | NE | $47,256–$50,120 | $716 | 66–70 | Not stated | 3–4 years FT | Not stated |
| University of New Hampshire | NH | $40,000 | $800 | 50 | 1,000 | ~4 years (52 months) | Mostly Online |
| Rutgers University | NJ | $72,228 | $926 | 32 | 752 | 4–5 years | Hybrid |
| New Mexico State University | NM | $38,979 | $493 | 79 | 1,088 | 3 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| University of New Mexico | NM | $30,000–$35,000 | $628 | 69 | 750 | Under 3 years (8 consecutive terms) | Hybrid |
| University of Nevada Reno | NV | $24,038–$25,451 | $354 | 68–72 | 1,000 | 3 years (full-time) or 5 years (part-time) | Online |
| Adelphi University⚠️ Not currently accepting applicants | NY | $148,420 | $1,810 | 82 | 1,000 | ~5 years (part-time) | Hybrid |
| Binghamton University | NY | $75,360 | $1,047 | 78 | 1,200 | 3 years (full-time) | Hybrid |
| Columbia University | NY | $217,152 | $2,496 | 87 | Not stated | 2.5 years full time; 4.5 years part-time | Hybrid |
| Hofstra University | NY | $125,994 | $1,826 | 69 | 720 | 3 years (full-time) | Not stated |
| Hunter College | NY | $55,800 | $620 | 90 | 1,130 | ~6 years full-time (per program plan) | Not stated |
| Molloy University | NY | $113,565 | $1,695 | 67 | 1,000 | 5 years (part-time) | Campus |
| NYU | NY | $209,664 | $2,496 | 84 | 1,075 | 4–5 years (part-time only) | Campus |
| Russell Sage College⚠️ Pending accreditation | NY | $69,840 | $970 | 72 | 1,250 | 4.5–5.5 yrs | Mostly Online |
| SUNY Upstate Medical University | NY | $96,120–$126,720 | $1,068 | 90 | 900 | ~3 yrs (full-time); 9 year-round semesters | Hybrid |
| Purdue Global | National | Not stated | $700 | Not stated | Not stated | ~2 years for MSN, then transition to DNP | Online |
| Walden University | National | $74,405 | Not stated | 95 | 1,000 | 3.25 years full-time | Online |
| Wilkes University | National | $31,680 | Not stated | Not stated | 1,000 | 2-3 years | Online |
| Cleveland State University | OH | $58,616 | $637 | 92 | 1,080 | 4 yrs (11 semesters) | Online |
| Ohio State University | OH | $85,580 | $973 | 88 | 1,013 | 3–4 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Ohio University | OH | $43,260 | $618 | 70 | 1,000 | ~3 yrs | Mostly Online |
| University of Toledo | OH | $65,000–$78,000 | $883 | 74 | 1,035 | ~3.5–4 yrs | Mostly Online |
| Ursuline College | OH | $73,050 | $974 | 75 | Not stated | 3–4 yrs | Hybrid |
| Oklahoma City University | OK | $67,660 | $995 | 68 | 720 | 4 yrs | Hybrid |
| The University of Oklahoma | OK | $47,606 | $626 | 76 | 1,152 | 3 yrs (FT); 4 years part-time | Mostly Online |
| Oregon Health & Science University | OR | $107,223 | $713 | 111 | 1,000 | 3 years (full time) | Not stated |
| University of Scranton | PA | $51,724 | $772 | 67 | 750 | 33 months (full-time) | Mostly Online |
| Jefferson University | PA | $90,916 | $1,337 | 68 | Not stated | ~4–6 years | Not stated |
| Pennsylvania State University | PA | $61,183 | $1,037 | 59 | 600 | 3 years (8 semesters) part-time | Mostly Online |
| University of Pittsburgh | Pittsburgh | $113,920 | Not stated | 89 | Not stated | 36 months | Not stated |
| Anderson University | SC | $65,835 | $855 | 77 | 1,000 | ~3 years (9 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Francis Marion University | SC | $59,300 | $823 | 72 | 1,080 | 3 years | Mostly Online |
| Medical University of South Carolina | SC | $158,935 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | ~3 years full-time | Not stated |
| University of South Carolina | SC | $97,000–$133,000 | $572 | 75 | Not stated | ~3–4 years | Mostly Online |
| South Dakota State University | SD | $47,814 | $613 | 78 | 1,000 | 4 yrs (part-time) | Mostly Online |
| East Tennessee State University | TN | $53,760 | $672 | 80 | 1,000 | 3-4 years | Mostly Online |
| Tennessee Tech University | TN | $55,920 | $699 | 80 | Not stated | 3-4 years full-time | Online |
| University of Tennessee | TN | $68,249 | Not stated | 69 | 840 | 3 years full-time (8 semesters including summers) | Mostly Online |
| Vanderbilt University | TN | $131,648 | $2,057 | 64 | 1,000 | ~3 years (7 semesters) full-time | Mostly Online |
| Baylor University⚠️ Limited to residents of approved states | TX | $96,250 | $1,250 | 77 | 1,125 | 3–4 years | Mostly Online |
| Texas Christian University | TX | $154,700 | $2,210 | 70 | Not stated | 3–4 years | Online |
| Texas Tech University | TX | $36,450 | $486 | 75 | 1,080 | 4 years full-time across 12 semesters | Mostly Online |
| UT Health Houston | TX | $29,862 | $378 | 79 | Not stated | Average completion: 10 semesters (~5 years full-time) | Hybrid |
| UT Health San Antonio | TX | $45,000–$60,000 | Not stated | 76 | Not stated | 3 years | Hybrid |
| University of Utah | UT | $73,000 | $322 | 79 | 900 | ~3 years (8 semesters) | Mostly Online |
| Weber State University | UT | $36,000–$40,500 | $460 | 75 | 750 | ~2.5 years | Not stated |
| George Mason University | VA | $46,494 | $646 | 72 | 1,000 | about 3 years full-time | Hybrid |
| University of Virginia | VA | $85,252 | $914 | 76–80 | 750 | 33 months (~3 years) full-time | Hybrid |
| Pacific Lutheran University | WA | $104,328 | $1,242 | 84 | 750 | 3 yrs (4 part-time) | Hybrid |
| Seattle University | WA | $108,003 | $973 | 107–111 | Not stated | 3 years | Campus |
| University of Washington | WA | $105,192 | Not stated | 93 | Not stated | 3 years (9 quarters) | Not stated |
| Washington State University | WA | $87,324–$97,804 | $1,180 | 74 | 660 | 3-4 years full-time | Mostly Online |
| Bellin College | WI | $63,400–$63,700 | $852 | 73 | 1,045 | 3 years full-time (5 years part-time) | Online |
| University of Wisconsin | WI | $37,212–$49,616 | Not stated | 71 | Not stated | 3–4 years | Hybrid |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire | WI | $53,500–$58,000 | $981 | 74 | 1,238 | 3 years full-time (4-5 year part-time plans) | Hybrid |
Tuition estimates come from each school's published rates as summarized in our program profiles, using resident rates where they differ. Fees, books and travel are not included. ⚠️ marks programs with admission limits.
Most Affordable BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs
These programs have the lowest estimated tuition among BSN-to-DNP programs with published cost figures. Resident rates are shown where in-state and out-of-state tuition differ, and programs limited to students in certain states are not included.
- UT Health Houston (TX): $29,862 estimated tuition, 79 credits, Hybrid
Shortest BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs
These programs list the shortest full-time completion times. Part-time study usually adds a year or more.
- Weber State University (UT): ~2.5 years, $36,000–$40,500, format not stated
- University of Arizona (AZ): 2.5 yrs (full-time), $74,081, Mostly Online
- Emory University (GA): ~2.5 years (7 semesters), $166,564, Mostly Online
- Columbia University (NY): 2.5 years full time; 4.5 years part-time, $217,152, Hybrid
- University of Michigan-Flint (MI): 2.7 yrs (FT) – 3.7 yrs (PT), $67,000–$68,000, Mostly Online
- University of Scranton (PA): 33 months (full-time), $51,724, Mostly Online
- Mercer University (GA): 2.5–3 years (8 semesters), $98,984, Hybrid
- Georgia Southern University (GA): 3 years, $21,006, Online
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): 3 years (full-time) or 5 years (part-time), $24,038–$25,451, Online
- Idaho State University (ID): 3 yrs (8 semesters), $64,544, Mostly Online
Fully Online BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Programs Under $50,000
These programs deliver all coursework online and list estimated tuition below $50,000. Clinical hours and the DNP project are still completed in person.
- Georgia Southern University (GA): $21,006, 77 credits
- University of Nevada Reno (NV): $24,038–$25,451, 68–72 credits
- University of Florida (FL): $40,332, 76 credits
- University of South Alabama (AL): $42,021, 69 credits
- University of Mississippi (MS): $42,150, 75 credits
Who a BSN-to-DNP PMHNP Program Is For
- BSN nurses who want the doctorate now: one continuous program avoids a second admissions process and a gap between degrees.
- Nurses aiming for leadership, teaching or health-system roles: the DNP’s quality-improvement and leadership training is most useful beyond direct patient care.
- Students who can commit 3 or more years: the program is roughly a year longer than an MSN, and the final year is heavy with clinical and project hours.
If your main goal is to start practicing as a PMHNP as soon as possible, a BSN-to-MSN PMHNP program is usually faster and less expensive, and you can add an MSN-to-DNP later.
What to Check Before You Apply
- DNP project support: ask whether the school helps you find a project site and faculty mentor, or expects you to arrange both.
- Clinical placement support: some schools place you with preceptors, while others require you to find your own. The DNP’s extra hours make this more important than in an MSN.
- Campus visits: mostly online programs require a set number of intensives. Count the trips over 3 to 4 years before comparing tuition.
- State limits: some programs enroll only students in certain states or require clinicals in-state, such as Montana State University and Southeastern Louisiana University.
- Midpoint MSN: a few programs award an MSN partway through, which can let you sit for certification earlier.
BSN-to-DNP vs. MSN vs. Certificate
- BSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for BSN nurses who want the doctorate in one program. Usually about 75 credits over 3 to 4 years.
- BSN-to-MSN PMHNP: for BSN nurses who want the fastest route to practice. Usually about 48 credits over 2 to 2.5 years.
- MSN-to-DNP PMHNP: for nurses who already hold an MSN and want PMHNP preparation with a DNP.
- Post-master’s PMHNP certificate: for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP and only need PMHNP preparation.
Certification After Graduation
Graduates of accredited BSN-to-DNP PMHNP programs are eligible to sit for the ANCC PMHNP-BC board certification exam, the same exam MSN and certificate graduates take. After passing, you apply to your state board of nursing for authority to practice as a PMHNP. For the full path from RN to PMHNP, see How to Become a PMHNP.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does a BSN-to-DNP PMHNP program take?
Most programs take 3 to 4 years of full-time study, and the median program lists 3 years. A few finish in about 2.5 years full time, while part-time plans often run 4 to 5 years or longer.
How much does a BSN-to-DNP PMHNP program cost?
The median estimated tuition is about $65,600. The middle half of programs falls between about $44,100 and $90,200, with per-credit rates usually between $615 and $1,075. Public universities charging resident tuition are generally the least expensive.
Can I earn a BSN-to-DNP PMHNP online?
Partly. About 1 in 5 programs deliver coursework fully online, and about 2 in 3 are online or mostly online, meaning online classes plus required campus visits. Clinical hours and the DNP project are completed in person.
Is a BSN-to-DNP worth it compared with an MSN?
Both prepare you for the same PMHNP board certification and the same clinical role. The DNP adds roughly 25 to 30 credits, about a year of study and a scholarly project focused on quality improvement and leadership. It suits nurses who want a doctorate for leadership, teaching or health-system roles, and who prefer to earn it in one continuous program.
How many clinical hours does a BSN-to-DNP require?
DNP programs generally require at least 1,000 post-baccalaureate clinical and practice hours, which include PMHNP clinical rotations and hours tied to the DNP project. The median program on this page lists 1,000 hours.
What is the DNP project?
The DNP project is a scholarly project completed near the end of the program, usually a quality-improvement or evidence-based practice initiative carried out at a clinical site. Schools differ in how much help they give with finding a project site and mentor.
Can I earn an MSN along the way?
Some programs award an MSN partway through the BSN-to-DNP, such as the University of Michigan-Flint at 54 credits. Others award only the DNP at the end. Check each school's profile if a midpoint degree matters to you.
What certification exam do graduates take?
Graduates are eligible for the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) board certification exam, PMHNP-BC, the same exam MSN and certificate graduates take.
More PMHNP Program Guides
- Online PMHNP programs by state
- BSN-to-MSN PMHNP programs
- MSN-to-DNP PMHNP programs
- Post-master’s PMHNP certificate programs
- Future Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner Scholarship